The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 04, 2003, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by PiggSkin
Slightly different scenario...

15 seconds on the clock, A runs a draw and gains a first down... They quickly get set for the next play, and with three seconds remaining, either a) A false starts, or b) B encroaches... Penalty is marked, the clock starts on the RFP, and A doesn't get the snap off before the clock hits zero...

I've been told that A would not get another snap in either case because the penalty did not happen on the last down of the period... Rather, it happened after the last down, therefore 3-3-3 does not apply, and period is over...

I'm not sure if I agree with this argument, but I can't find any holes in it...

If this reasoning is valid, this would be a case where the period ends on an accepted penalty...
There are no holes. There is no extension of the period for an untimed down, unless there is acceptance of the penalty for a foul which occurred during the last timed down of the period. A dead ball foul does not occur during a down.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1