Quote:
Originally posted by Patsfan2431
Guys,
My opinion differs and i believe the U got it WRONG. We've had many discussions of this on our board and we have all agreed that on a accepted penalty (in this case 13 seconds) the offense does not get an untimed down because technically the play was not the last play of the period. We have taken the stance that the play must be over with 0:00 on the clock to give the offense a untimed down when an accepted penalty on the defense occurs. If officials are taking the stance that the offense gets an untimed down when an accepted penalty occurs, the offense gets an undue avantage. If there is less than 25 sceonds to go, they can just talk about plays until the clock stops at 0:00 and then have another 25 seconds to get the untimed play off. I'm sorry, but if the clock is not 0:00 when the ref is calling the penalty, then that play is technically not the last play of the period.
|
No, I'm sorry. You're wrong. The rule does not say that time must expire during the down. It refers to the last timed down of the period. This was most certainly the last timed down. But don't take my word for it, here's a case play that backs it up.
3.3.3 SITUATION C: Near the end of the third period, it is third and 4 for A from B's 48-yard line. A1 advances to B's 45 and during the run there is holding by B1. The penalty is accepted. At the end of the down there are three seconds remaining in the period. Because the penalty was the only reason for the clock to be stopped, it is started with the ready-for-play signal and the period ends before A snaps the ball.
RULING: A is entitled to an untimed down because it accepted the penalty for afoul which occurred during the last timed down of the period. Therefore, the period must be extended with an untimed down in this situation
even though time remained and A had a chance to snap the ball before it expired.
I'd be interested to read all these discussions where we all agreed on this. Seems you need to listen to the ol' codger, too.