View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2003, 11:18am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Patsfan2431
The rule i am refering to was handed down to me by my state board. There was a play in a varsity game in my state. A was on their own 30YL with 30 seconds left. A passes and there is UC penalty on the play. Mind you, A is up huge. I believe the ref (i did not do the game) didn't give A the choice of accepting it and just marked off the penalty and subsequently the clock ran out before A was able to run a play (they weren't going to run a play anyway). I asked the ref about the play because i was under the impression that since the last down of the timed period resulted in an accepted penalty, that A was entitled to an untimed down. I brought it up at our state board meeting and the rules committee member said no. I am a new official and i thought i got it right, and then i got down on myself because i might have screwed that one up on the field, and no i may have gotten it right (maybe not in Connecticut though). But to all who wondered, that was my rational for posting my differing opinion.

The key word here is during the last timed down of the period. If a dead-ball fouls occurs, it will be enforced from the succeeding spot. UC fouls always treated like dead-ball fouls, and a UC foul cannot extend the period.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote