![]() |
|
|
|||
So you're saying the wording in the press release wouldn't apply to a player of team B's getting a hand on a snap that's slung far & shallow to a side of the field? What about it gives you confidence that won't be ruled encroachment?
|
|
|||
It's called the case book, and judgement. and you should read what the definition of a snap is...
|
|
|||
As bcl1127 suggests Robert, NFHS 2-40-1,2 & 3 explain, this new rule adjustment seems to fit well the condition you describe.
|
|
|||
We're reading the same definition, so how do you think this rule adjustment won't produce an encroachment foul in that situation?
|
|
|||
I'm not quite sure what you mean by "that situation", but if you are referencing a situation where a defensive player attempting to slap, a snap (in ANY direction) in such a manner that it also violated 9-4-6 (Roughing the snapper) unless there was distinct separation between the actions, I would consider the attempted interference with the snap as a component, or part, of the greater violation of Roughing the snapper, and consider both actions as a single Dead Ball foul.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Rationale: Defensive players are restricted from contacting the ball or the snapper’s hand(s) or arm(s) until the snapper has released the ball |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Of course, but where did bcl1127 get his summary statement?
|
|
|||
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Black pants: to press or not to press? | sir_eldren | Football | 9 | Sat Sep 03, 2011 09:55am |
NFHS Rule Change Basketball Press Release | Tim C | Basketball | 4 | Fri May 07, 2010 12:33am |
NFHS Press Release | BillyMac | Basketball | 0 | Tue May 08, 2007 06:43pm |
ASA PRESS RELEASE: BANNED BATS !!!! | ump57006 | Softball | 5 | Sat Aug 03, 2002 11:40pm |
NCAA Press Release for 2002-03 rules changes. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 38 | Fri May 10, 2002 10:39am |