Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Robert Goodman  So you're saying the wording in the press release wouldn't apply to a player of team B's getting a hand on a snap that's slung far & shallow to a side of the field?  What about it gives you confidence that won't be ruled encroachment? | 
	
 7-1-6:  Now stipulates that it is encroachment to strike the ball or the snapper’s hand/arm prior to the snapper releasing the ball.
Rationale:  Defensive players are restricted from contacting the ball or the snapper’s hand(s) or arm(s) until the snapper has released the ball