The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Aggie, curious about "legal play" on #1 for NCAA. Can a player step out of bounds and then back in and participate/touch the ball without it being Ill participation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
Technically #1 is illegal in NCAA as well, but it's not illegal participation. (There is no 15 yard illegal participation in NCAA anymore.) By the letter of the rule, the punter has fouled because no member of the kicking team may go out of bounds and return in bounds (unless blocked out) during a scrimmage kick down. But the spirit of this rule is for gunners going downfield to cover a kick, not for a punter who accidentally goes out of bounds before he even kicks it. In "test world" this is a five yard penalty that can be enforced either at the previous spot or where the dead ball belongs to B. In "real world", this is nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacy Zebra View Post
Technically #1 is illegal in NCAA as well, but it's not illegal participation. (There is no 15 yard illegal participation in NCAA anymore.) By the letter of the rule, the punter has fouled because no member of the kicking team may go out of bounds and return in bounds (unless blocked out) during a scrimmage kick down. But the spirit of this rule is for gunners going downfield to cover a kick, not for a punter who accidentally goes out of bounds before he even kicks it. In "test world" this is a five yard penalty that can be enforced either at the previous spot or where the dead ball belongs to B. In "real world", this is nothing.
Interesting. What if he wants to take advantage of this, and shifts into a position behind his end line, waiting for the snap? And what if he catches the snap while his feet are off the ground, last having touched OOB, and then touches in bounds as he completes his steps to punt?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Interesting. What if he wants to take advantage of this, and shifts into a position behind his end line, waiting for the snap? And what if he catches the snap while his feet are off the ground, last having touched OOB, and then touches in bounds as he completes his steps to punt?
2nd question. In NCAA you need to reestablish position inbounds to be considered in bounds. So in the instance he steps out and has not returned in bounds there would be a safety for being OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
Then we have an illegal formation for a player being out of bounds at the snap. The ball is dead as soon as he touches it since he is an out of bounds player touching a loose ball. Since his team is responsible for the ball being behind their goal line, it is a safety. The ILF can be enforced from the previous spot or declined and B gets 2 points.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Thanks NCAA fellers :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1