Thread: in K's EZ
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 01:50pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacy Zebra View Post
Technically #1 is illegal in NCAA as well, but it's not illegal participation. (There is no 15 yard illegal participation in NCAA anymore.) By the letter of the rule, the punter has fouled because no member of the kicking team may go out of bounds and return in bounds (unless blocked out) during a scrimmage kick down. But the spirit of this rule is for gunners going downfield to cover a kick, not for a punter who accidentally goes out of bounds before he even kicks it. In "test world" this is a five yard penalty that can be enforced either at the previous spot or where the dead ball belongs to B. In "real world", this is nothing.
Interesting. What if he wants to take advantage of this, and shifts into a position behind his end line, waiting for the snap? And what if he catches the snap while his feet are off the ground, last having touched OOB, and then touches in bounds as he completes his steps to punt?
Reply With Quote