The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2016, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
While reaching for the ball R1 causes the ball to go into the end zone
What'd he do, fan on it? I can only imagine you mean he touched it, resulting in a muff. That being the case leads to an interesting situation in Fed rules. Because the loose ball was still a kick (2-25-2), 8-5-3a.1 has it as a touchback. However, the facts of 8-5-2b also apply, making it a safety. The rules don't make either of these provisions an exception to the other.

I believe they intended for the result to be a safety, because otherwise the new force R1 applied to the ball would be inconsequential, and they must've meant it to have consequences.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Question LeRoy Football 3 Sun Sep 22, 2013 08:13pm
Nfhs question RookieDude Basketball 25 Tue Nov 13, 2012 08:18am
NFHS Question benbret Football 1 Sat Oct 27, 2012 09:59am
NFHS question # 48 shipwreck Softball 2 Wed Aug 17, 2011 06:58am
NFHS question #33 shipwreck Softball 10 Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1