Thread: NFHS Question
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2016, 10:27pm
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrounge View Post
There is no way this can be can be a safety. While it seems 8-5-2 would apply, this is a general section dealing with overall play. The more specific 8-5-3 would apply since that's specific to kicks. A basic rule of thumb is that the specific will always trump the general.
Absolutely agree, NFHS 6-3-1: "it is a touchback if ANY free kick or scrimmage kick: (a)......breaks the plane of R's goalline, unless R chooses a spot of 1st touching by K."

NFHS: 2-24-2: a kick ends when a player gains possession or when the ball becomes dead while not in player possession." R-1's "muff" does not end the "kick".
Reply With Quote