![]() |
|
|
|||
Nfhs question
If I were to ask a question in regards to a player RECOVERING A TIPPED PASS IN THE BACKCOURT...should I assume the recovered pass hit the backcourt floor first or the tipped pass was caught in the air?
I know from all the discussion here that an interp in 2007-2008 came out stating that a tipped pass in A's frontcourt by B and then CAUGHT by A4 would be a backcourt violation. How are we to determine the ball status when the question simply says "A4 recovers the tipped pass in A's backcourt"?
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Quote:
Quite frankly, if it says that, then there is not enough information, solely because of that interpretation that you mentioned. However, if I had to assume that they think their question does provide all the information, then what's more likely: they they wish to quiz you on (a) a challengeable interpretation from years ago, or (b) that the ball did contact the BC before A4 recovered and is this a BC violation and/or when does the BC count re-start. I think (b) is the answer.
__________________
Pope Francis Last edited by JugglingReferee; Thu Nov 08, 2012 at 02:26pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
...and no where in the question does it state that "B CAUSED THE BALL TO ENTER THE BC".
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA Last edited by RookieDude; Thu Nov 08, 2012 at 02:34pm. |
|
|||
gotcha...then "in general" this would be a violation...
btw...2 responses 2 different answers.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Since we are asking "hypothetical" questions here..
Is there enough information in the following question to answer it correctily...and if you think so, what would you answer? A1 rebounds a missed try, chins the ball with elbows sticking out. A1 pivots and contacts B1 in the head with their elbow. A. No call A1 is making a basketball move B. Team Control foul on A1 C. Intentional foul on A1 D. Flagrant foul on A1 IOW...using the NFHS on-line clinic which states that contact caused by a player with the ball and elbows extended, PIVOTING, can be either a common foul or incidental contact. (Not excessively swinging elbows, just pivoting) ...and using Rule 9-13
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Quote:
To call a flagrant foul requires intent to injure, etc. None of that is mentioned here. An intentional foul is a foul to stop the clock, prevent opponent's obvious advantageous position, or cause excessive contact. The only one could be excessive contact, but should be used carefully. If there's a POE that says this is excessive, it is excessive. It's adding a category for that foul though. It certainly isn't a normal basketball move to invade an opponent's space with your elbow and make contact.
__________________
Pope Francis Last edited by JugglingReferee; Thu Nov 08, 2012 at 03:21pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
From the POES: Examples of illegal contact above the shoulders and resulting penalties: 1) contact with a stationary elbow may be incidental or a common foul. 2) An elbow in movement but not excessive should be an intentional foul. 3) A moving elbow that is excessive and be either an intentional foul or a flagrant personal foul. Of those, only the second applies to your play. So, that leaves options A (if the contact is legal because "it's a basketball move") and C (if the contact isn't) |
|
|||
I think Juggling Referee and I had the same answer, but since he has the canadian ruling, I might be wrong.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Question | Skahtboi | Softball | 8 | Thu Oct 13, 2011 08:38am |
NFHS question # 48 | shipwreck | Softball | 2 | Wed Aug 17, 2011 06:58am |
NFHS Question 68 | kraz423 | Basketball | 47 | Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:06am |
NFHS Question 24 | MrRabbit | Softball | 15 | Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm |
NFHS question #9 | shipwreck | Softball | 6 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 06:31pm |