The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Sep 06, 2016, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member

Scrimmage kick play question

Hey all. First time poster. I am a coach in Tennessee. We had a play Friday night which left me scratching my head, so I'm hoping you guys can shine some light on it for me with a rule cite.

We are the R in a punt situation. An R player blocks the punt (I actually don't think he blocked it, but the white hat indicated he had a tipped ball). An R player tries to recover the punt beyond the LOS but still short of the line to gain for a first down. K recovers the ball but is still short of the line to gain.

So is it 1st and 10 K from the spot, or 1st and 10 R from the spot?
Old Tue Sep 06, 2016, 07:30pm
Official Forum Member

So....who touched the ball and when? From the description, it doesn't much matter if R blocked/tipped/touched the punt at first at all, if the punt went beyond the LOS, we're ignoring that.

So it comes down to if R touched it beyond the LOS (for purposes of this discussion, 'LOS' means the expanded neutral zone, up to 2 yds from the ball at the snap).

If R did touch it when you say 'An R player tries to recover the punt beyond the LOS', then if K recovers the ball, it's K 1st and 10. Additionally, if K were to recover the ball in or behind the LOS, they can advance it. Original LTG is immaterial at this point, because R touched it beyond the LOS.

Now if R didn't touch it, then it's just run of the mill first touching by K, R ball.
Old Tue Sep 06, 2016, 07:50pm
Chain of Fools