The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 25, 2016, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 34
Legal Catch

See what U guys answer is on the following:

13. Defensive back B15 and receiver A7 both simultaneously catch a legal
forward pass at the back of the end zone. B15 lands on the end line and
A7 lands in the end zone. Both maintain possession falling to the
ground. This is an incomplete pass.

A. True
B. False
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 25, 2016, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,761
Who lands 1st? If the 1st of them to land touches OOB in doing so, it's incomplete. If the 1st lander lands in bounds, it's a catch by that player.

If they land simultaneously, then incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 26, 2016, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorrydog View Post
See what U guys answer is on the following:

13. Defensive back B15 and receiver A7 both simultaneously catch a legal
forward pass at the back of the end zone. B15 lands on the end line and
A7 lands in the end zone. Both maintain possession falling to the
ground. This is an incomplete pass.

A. True
B. False
A. True
Per 7.5.4 Situation A (e), it is an incomplete pass. (2015 Case Book)

7.5.4 SITUATION A:

Airborne A1 and B1 simultaneously gain possession of a legal forward pass near the goal line and return to the ground where:

(a) they alight in the field of play inbounds; or
(b) they alight in the end zone with the ball; or
(c) A1 lands in the end zone and B1 in the field of play inbounds;
(d) B1 comes down in the end zone and A1 lands in the field of play; or
(e) A1 lands in the end zone and B1 lands out of bounds.

RULING: In (a), the ball is dead and belongs to A at the yard line through the foremost point of the ball when A1 and B1 contacted the ground inbounds. It is a touchdown in (b). In (c) and (d), the ball becomes dead and the pass is complete at the yard line through the foremost point of the ball when the players contacted the ground inbounds. If the ball has penetrated the plane of the goal line in either (c) or (d), it is a touchdown. In (e) incomplete pass.

COMMENT: In order for there to be a simultaneous catch, opposing players must have simultaneous joint possession, and both must be in contact with the ground inbounds. The players' contact with the ground does not have to be *exactly simultaneous. If A1 and B1 jointly possess a forward pass while airborne and both land inbounds, it is a completed pass, the ball is dead at that point and belongs to A. If there is simultaneous recovery of a fumble, the ball becomes dead and belongs to the team which last had possession. If there is simultaneous recovery of a free kick or scrimmage kick, the ball becomes dead and belongs to the receiving team. (4-2-2c; 7-5-4; 8-2-1)

Last edited by GA Umpire 07; Sun Jun 26, 2016 at 11:11pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal catch over fence? rbmartin Baseball 10 Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:12pm
When is it considered a Legal Catch?? jshock Baseball 14 Thu Sep 28, 2006 05:27pm
legal catch - out of bounds JimSmith Baseball 9 Thu Jun 19, 2003 01:29pm
Legal catch greymule Baseball 11 Tue Jul 16, 2002 01:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1