![]() |
|
|||
|
NCAA rules, RULE 6, Section 1, Article 2.c.5:
All players of Team A must have been between the nine-yard marks after the ready-for-play signal [S19]. Take another look at the video, only don't make the mistake others have made in considering it a violation of the 4-men-per-side rule, which draws everyone's attention away from the actual infraction by focusing attention on the upper part of the screen. Instead, focus on the lower part of the screen, and you will see that the closest player to the near side of the field in the video is lined up outside the hash marks, in violation of this rule. Now I'm no expert on what the call technically should be for this violation, i.e., whether that is still called an offsides infraction, or perhaps illegal formation or something else. But the official got it right, he was looking right at him when he threw the flag. At worst, he would be guilty of calling it by the wrong name, not making a bad call. But I'm guessing that the call would still be offside rather than illegal formation, because the infraction is basically the same thing that happens with the normal offside call, it simply involves being offside in regard to the width of the field rather than the length. Last edited by Just4Kicks; Wed Dec 09, 2015 at 12:37am. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| State Championship Call | bisonlj | Football | 75 | Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:50pm |
| offside or not ? | iowafanseattle | Soccer | 6 | Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:31pm |
| Offside? | RefSouthAlb | Soccer | 9 | Thu Jul 06, 2006 01:03am |
| What is offside? | fnebster | Football | 14 | Tue May 11, 2004 02:01pm |
| Last Night's Game in World Championship-a couple of ??? call | Kelvin green | Basketball | 6 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 03:52pm |