The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2015, 04:37pm
big jake
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This has been a topic of discussion at our local meeting. So if the runner catches the ball and momentum takes him in the end zone he can run it out. We have had several different answers on this one. One said put the ball at the spot he caught the ball? Think we got it right but in the past we have been calling it a touch back and putting the ball at the 20
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2015, 05:01pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by big jake View Post
This has been a topic of discussion at our local meeting. So if the runner catches the ball and momentum takes him in the end zone he can run it out. We have had several different answers on this one. One said put the ball at the spot he caught the ball? Think we got it right but in the past we have been calling it a touch back and putting the ball at the 20
And that is the one response that's completely wrong -- he catches it at the 3 and you're going to give a touchback?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2015, 05:05pm
big jake
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
We thought anytime the ball crossed the gl on a ko it was a dead ball touchback, after discussing this and getting in the rule book we got the right answer. I think this is right as if this does happen he can run it out as the k ends when he catches it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2015, 08:09am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by big jake View Post
We thought anytime the ball crossed the gl on a ko it was a dead ball touchback, after discussing this and getting in the rule book we got the right answer. I think this is right as if this does happen he can run it out as the k ends when he catches it?
Correct.

A kick is a kick is a kick until it ends (possession by a receiver, for instance) or becomes dead by rule.

If the ball becomes dead in the EZ, the momentum rule applies & the ball will be placed at the R-2.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2015, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Find the old thread about momentum rule and the ball being intercepted at the 3 and momentum carrying player into the EZ where he is downed there...this is what a good number of people are reverting back to, I think.

Took possession of kick at 2. If he downed in EZ due to momentum, ball should come out to the 2. He should have the option to run it out of the EZ....kick ended when recovered on the 2 YL.

Multiple case book references I have on fumbles & interceptions with similar GL scenario....can't dig one up involving KO.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."

Last edited by Canned Heat; Thu Oct 01, 2015 at 08:44am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kick Off Question habram Football 5 Mon Sep 16, 2013 09:35pm
Kick off question jstafan Football 17 Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:57pm
Another Kick question (free kick) referee20 Football 15 Wed Sep 16, 2009 08:14pm
Free Kick Question MN BB Ref Football 22 Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:03pm
Kick off question buffalo_frenchy Football 10 Fri Oct 10, 2003 01:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1