The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   kick off question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/100136-kick-off-question.html)

big jake Sat Sep 26, 2015 01:25pm

kick off question
 
R receives kick on the 2 yards line and the momentum of the kick takes r into end zone. Is this a dead ball touch back in high school?

Rich Sat Sep 26, 2015 01:32pm

Practically? If it's close enough for me to put it either place, I'm holding the whistle or my wind till the runner tells me what he wants and I'm going with it.

By rule, the kick ended when R caught it at the 2.

big jake Sat Sep 26, 2015 01:33pm

But when he went back in the end zone can he come out?

HLin NC Sat Sep 26, 2015 01:40pm

If the momentum of the R player takes him into the end zone, the momentum rule (3 yl back) allows the ball to be placed at the spot of the catch. (NFHS)

I guess in Texas and Mass he can run it out. In the other 48, no.

SC Official Sat Sep 26, 2015 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 967150)
But when he went back in the end zone can he come out?

Yes. The kick ended when it was caught.

Rich Sat Sep 26, 2015 04:38pm

If momentum and not the kick puts R in the end zone, he can run it out under NFHS rules, too.

big jake Wed Sep 30, 2015 04:37pm

This has been a topic of discussion at our local meeting. So if the runner catches the ball and momentum takes him in the end zone he can run it out. We have had several different answers on this one. One said put the ball at the spot he caught the ball? Think we got it right but in the past we have been calling it a touch back and putting the ball at the 20

Rich Wed Sep 30, 2015 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 967352)
This has been a topic of discussion at our local meeting. So if the runner catches the ball and momentum takes him in the end zone he can run it out. We have had several different answers on this one. One said put the ball at the spot he caught the ball? Think we got it right but in the past we have been calling it a touch back and putting the ball at the 20

And that is the one response that's completely wrong -- he catches it at the 3 and you're going to give a touchback?

big jake Wed Sep 30, 2015 05:05pm

We thought anytime the ball crossed the gl on a ko it was a dead ball touchback, after discussing this and getting in the rule book we got the right answer. I think this is right as if this does happen he can run it out as the k ends when he catches it?

Rich Wed Sep 30, 2015 06:16pm

Already covered above.

CT1 Thu Oct 01, 2015 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 967358)
We thought anytime the ball crossed the gl on a ko it was a dead ball touchback, after discussing this and getting in the rule book we got the right answer. I think this is right as if this does happen he can run it out as the k ends when he catches it?

Correct.

A kick is a kick is a kick until it ends (possession by a receiver, for instance) or becomes dead by rule.

If the ball becomes dead in the EZ, the momentum rule applies & the ball will be placed at the R-2.

Canned Heat Thu Oct 01, 2015 08:25am

Find the old thread about momentum rule and the ball being intercepted at the 3 and momentum carrying player into the EZ where he is downed there...this is what a good number of people are reverting back to, I think.

Took possession of kick at 2. If he downed in EZ due to momentum, ball should come out to the 2. He should have the option to run it out of the EZ....kick ended when recovered on the 2 YL.

Multiple case book references I have on fumbles & interceptions with similar GL scenario....can't dig one up involving KO.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1