![]() |
|
|
|||
Game Scenario for Discussion
Setup: State sanctioned spring/summer league where JV players looking to advance to varsity play for their own schools against other schools in the area. Officials work in a 3-person crew. Modified rules include 20-min running clock halves, but the clock stops in the last two minutes of the second half (excepting for a 25-point mercy rule).
Situation: 3-person crew. Team A was dominant most of the game and up by about 18 points early in the second half. But Team B goes on a run and comes to within 6 when the ball becomes dead/clock stops with 59.8 remaining. Team A has an endline spot throw-in under Team B's basket, and Team B is pressing. You're the new lead ready to receive the play as it comes down court and you're right by Team A's bench. Coach A calls timeout before A1 releases a throw-in pass, but by the time you put air in the whistle, the throw-in pass has been released and is in flight. You grant the timeout. Then you look up at the clock and see 58.4. Taking all of this context into account, what do you do? |
|
|||
Quote:
But a pretty straightforward ruling. The other background info has no bearing on the ruling. |
|
|||
Quote:
In this case, as I read the description, the timer should not be looking at the lead for the signal to start the clock. Given the timing mentioned in the OP, I would not have an issue with the timer unless I knew 100% that a partner had not dropped the hand. As for the clock. I am resetting it to the time prior to the throw, as no time legally came off the clock. |
|
|||
Why not? If you don't get air in the whistle when a foul is still occurring, is it too late to call the foul?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
My post notwithstanding, I'm going to pretend I'm a casual observer on this and say that this is not correct. One of the rules fundamentals is that "the whistle rarely causes the ball to become dead; it is already dead." So since I know the TO was called while the thrower had the ball, that caused the ball to become dead. The whistle a second later was simply a marker of that event. That's how it works. This was most certainly not an inadvertent whistle.
|
|
|||
Incorrect. See case play 5.8.3 Situation E. If you grant a timeout, even erroneously, it cannot be revoked.
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Grant the timeout. Put the time back on the clock. Have a discussion with the official timer about not starting the clock until it has been signaled. If there is any confusion, call both coaches over and explain that the timeout was requested prior to the release of the ball and it was simply a timing issue when the whistle occurred.
|
|
|||
Quote:
BEFORE THE PASS, TIMEOUT WHITE! It should be rare that you have to ever call both coaches over for anything.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
This occurred with under a minute left in a contested game. All well and good if it's clear, but if it's loud and difficult to hear and there was play after the ball was released you may need to offer some explanation. FWIW, I would have done exactly as you described, but I'm assuming the OP did not in light of the question.
As to your other point, when coaches are surveyed as to what they most want from officials, consistency and communication are often the top two items on the list. It never hurts to have good communication, particularly in game-ending situations. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Consider This (scenario) | bsnalex | Softball | 4 | Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:38am |
End of game situation offensive foul scenario with a made bucket at the buzzer | rockchalk jhawk | Basketball | 30 | Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:36pm |
Scenario | Dholloway1962 | Softball | 9 | Tue May 06, 2008 08:54am |
Game ending scenario - runner goes into DBT | Dakota | Softball | 26 | Tue Apr 24, 2007 09:01am |
Here's a scenario | Snake~eyes | Lacrosse | 4 | Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:29pm |