The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 09:11am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Wait until the basket is made and then call the T, unless the T is on the team with the ball. Problem solved.

There is interpretations precedent for doing just what I suggested.

Peace
There's no problem to solve. Once the shooting motion has begun, the basket counts anyway.

I might wait until the shot is in the air, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 03:55pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
There's no problem to solve. Once the shooting motion has begun, the basket counts anyway.

I might wait until the shot is in the air, though.
My simple point is to wait until the basket is completed just like the casebook states. Then you do not have to worry about if the basket counts or not. That is if of course you are thinking on your feet.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Per the language contained in the definition of continuous motion, it only applies to an opposing PLAYER committing a foul, not a coach or member of bench personnel. That is the reason for the withheld whistle in the Case Book play. If the technical foul is earned by a player on the court, it should be whistled immediately and the try counts if the act of shooting had begun.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 09:56pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Did a men's league game last month where a player mouthed off to me when the opposing team was starting to fast break. I waited about 5 seconds until the other team scored, then called the tech. Two points for the layup, two shots, and the ball. Boom.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Did a men's league game last month where a player mouthed off to me when the opposing team was starting to fast break. I waited about 5 seconds until the other team scored, then called the tech. Two points for the layup, two shots, and the ball. Boom.
Well done!
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 01:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Did a men's league game last month where a player mouthed off to me when the opposing team was starting to fast break. I waited about 5 seconds until the other team scored, then called the tech. Two points for the layup, two shots, and the ball. Boom.
You unfairly excessively punished this act. The withheld whistle is only for bench personnel and coaches, not players.

10.4.1 SITUATION F: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle this situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blow- ing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B head coach or bench personnel with a technical foul. If the official judges the act to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected. If A’s coach or bench personnel was the offender, the whistle shall be sounded immediately when the unsporting act occurs. (10-4-1a)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
You unfairly excessively punished this act. The withheld whistle is only for bench personnel and coaches, not players.

10.4.1 SITUATION F: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle this situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blow- ing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B head coach or bench personnel with a technical foul. If the official judges the act to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected. If A’s coach or bench personnel was the offender, the whistle shall be sounded immediately when the unsporting act occurs. (10-4-1a)
That case does not necessarily support your conclusion.

It gives an example of how to handle a situation where the offense is committed by a coach or bench personnel. However, it does not preclude handling players in the same manner. It is silent on that point. It could even be interpreted to be the opposite of your conclusion in the name of consistency.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 03:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
That case does not necessarily support your conclusion.

It gives an example of how to handle a situation where the offense is committed by a coach or bench personnel. However, it does not preclude handling players in the same manner. It is silent on that point. It could even be interpreted to be the opposite of your conclusion in the name of consistency.
The following play ruling is very clear and the one that I posted above is the only specific exception of which I am aware.

6.7 SITUATION C: Under what circumstances does the ball remain live when a foul occurs just prior to the ball being in flight during a try or tap? RULING: The ball would ordinarily become dead at once, but it remains live if the foul is by the defense, and this foul occurs after A1 has started the try or tap for goal and time does not expire before the ball is in flight. The foul by the defense may be either personal or technical and the exception to the rule applies to field goal tries and taps and free-throw tries. (4-11; 4-41-1)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 11:18am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
You unfairly excessively punished this act.
I know, that's why I did it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 02:52pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
If he called it earlier would he have been providing the defense with an advantage not intended by rule?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the act of shooting? The R Basketball 16 Wed Feb 06, 2013 07:17pm
Was he in the act of shooting? scooter2 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:52am
Shooting into the sun Scrapper1 Basketball 22 Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:20pm
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
shooting a Gmoore Basketball 18 Fri Dec 12, 2003 03:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1