The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Under cutting?

a good question for those much more senior than I (Rookie here).

2 man crew:

A1 attempts and misses lay-up. B1 trips over own feet and falls to the left of the paint. A2 jumps, obtains rebound, lands, and then jumps to attempt shot. A2 drifts away from the shot and lands on B1, who is still laying in the same position from when she fell.

My call: No foul. B1 was in that position before A2 jumped to put the shot back.

Any other opinions/advice?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 152
I don't know how much contact there was, but I would probably call a block on the player who is on the floor not in LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 06:45pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
NFHS rules this is not a foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 06:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
4-37-3 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
NFHS rules this is not a foul.
Because of this?

Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court, provided the
player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 07:42pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
NCAA-Men's it would be a foul, HS it is not.

I own this rule because the first ever NCAA game I ever officiated I called a travel on A1 for falling over a prone player. That's when I learned there was a rules difference.




PS: Fed-Ex?????
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2015, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Fair. But can you give me a general idea of where to look NCAA - M? I don't disagree, just trying to learn!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting NCAA largeone59 Football 2 Tue Jan 24, 2006 08:53pm
Cutting Lumber whiskers_ump Softball 6 Mon Jan 23, 2006 08:27am
Under Cutting Players Just Curious Basketball 18 Thu Jan 10, 2002 04:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1