The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2015, 02:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer View Post
I know this might be considered a HTBT moment, but try your best to imagine and lets throw around a few situations that may alter the thinking.

A1 has a throw in on the sideline about 10 feet in the frontcourt. They throw the ball to A2 who has one feet in the front court and one foot in the air stepping to the backcourt. While the feet are in this manner the ball comes to rest in one hand as the ball is being thrown towards the backcourt.

By rule if there is team control in the front, which we may consider if the ball comes to rest in the hand then we would have a backcourt violation.

At what point do we consider team control with only one hand?
Once A2 touches the ball, his location determines the location of the ball. One foot down in the FC, and nothing touching the BC means he has FC location.
Since he catches it, you have TC at that location.

You said he throws it towards the backcourt. What does that mean?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2015, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 47
You said he throws it towards the backcourt. What does that mean?[/QUOTE]

What I mean is that the throw in is about ten feet in the frontcourt. Therefore when the ball gets thrown the momentum of A2 carries him from the front court to the backcourt.

Thanks for the thoughts. This is tough as the team control happens slightly before the player moves into the backcourt. The player is caught in a tough position.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2015, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer View Post
The player is caught in a tough position.
Then the inbounder shouldn't throw the ball there -- throw it farther into the BC
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2015, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
9.9.1 SITUATION A:

A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in A's backcourt.

RULING: Violation. Player and team control are established in A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2015, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearef View Post
9.9.1 situation a:

A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in a's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in a's backcourt.

Ruling: Violation. Player and team control are established in a's frontcourt when a1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when a1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3)
👍
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2015, 04:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer View Post
What I mean is that the throw in is about ten feet in the frontcourt. Therefore when the ball gets thrown the momentum of A2 carries him from the front court to the backcourt.

Thanks for the thoughts. This is tough as the team control happens slightly before the player moves into the backcourt. The player is caught in a tough position.
So A2 catches the ball in motion, but with one foot on the floor in the FC and proceeds to step with the other foot into the BC.

If you think A2 actually had control of the ball (see bob's guidelines above) before the 2nd foot came down in the BC, you have a violation.

In practice, as socal notes, it's going to be have be very clear (almost happening in slow motion) before this will get called.

When you call it, be ready for the 3 points comments from the coaches.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2015, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
When you call it, be ready for the 3 points comments from the coaches.
Coaches around here aren't that smart. They won't know to even think about "3 points" unless there was a discussion about it earlier in the game. But not much earlier.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation BBrules Basketball 40 Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:03pm
Backcourt violation cmhjordan23 Basketball 12 Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:09pm
Backcourt Violation? rwest Basketball 6 Tue Dec 12, 2006 06:41pm
Backcourt Violation? Mark Dexter Basketball 8 Fri Nov 30, 2001 08:21pm
Backcourt violation or not? ref4e Basketball 21 Mon Nov 26, 2001 04:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1