![]() |
|
|
|||
Traveling Violation - Coaching Points (VIDEO)
I'm looking for some coaching points. In the video, the dribber is called for a travel. The kid does this move pretty often but the travel calls only come about 10% of the time. But this game, it was called a lot more often.
http://youtu.be/i2x_NPLYIVs How can I help this player understand why it's called and improve his technique? Is it simply because he didn't land on 2 feet? Background -- I think it's a travel too but when it's call so inconsistently, I start to doubt myself. Also, when it's called inconsistently, the player starts to doubt my coaching points. Also, the definition of traveling seems to have evolved from when I was coached 30 years ago (i.e. the dribbler seems to have more freedom/creativity). Lastly, I've never been formally trained on traveling infractions. I only go by what I think I can learn by watching games and searching youtube (and trying to comprehend the rule book). Last edited by APG; Sun Jan 25, 2015 at 01:00pm. Reason: embed clip |
|
||||
I agree it's close, but I see the gather with the right foot on the floor. If he gathers in the air, then the official incorrectly called a travel. If he gathers with the foot still down, then this is a travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Gathered In The Air ...
Tough call. Real time: Legal. Left foot is the pivot foot before the pass.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
||||
Quote:
Where are his feet when he gathers his dribble?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
I actually missed this one the first time, but in retrospect was embarrassed about it. Seems obvious to me now that he caught the ball in both hands before jumping and landing with a one two count.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
1) If they gather with one foot on the ground, jump off that foot, and land on 2 feet, they are still legal. 2) If they gather while in the air, then land on 2 feet, then either foot can be a pivot foot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
I tend to give the benefit of the doubt to the ball handler as to when the gather occurs but this one seemed pretty obvious to me at real time and on the first view. Classic example of failure to properly execute a jump stop and a clear travel to me. Not close. I agree with what someone stated earlier. Perhaps not called much in the OP's games b/c of inexperienced officials and/or officials not wanting to blow a lot of violations at that level. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Traveling Violation | niceofficial | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 13, 2015 05:05pm |
Amazing ending ... 8 points in under 2 seconds (with video) | Brad | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 12, 2008 07:16am |
Video: Traveling | All_Heart | Basketball | 2 | Tue Mar 28, 2006 08:22am |
Traveling Violation or Not ? | SteveRef702 | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 13, 2002 07:52pm |
Traveling Violation | Duster | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 23, 1999 07:00pm |