The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 329
Player/Team Control during "simultaneous possession"?

...or more precisely, in the moment immediately before the whistle is blown for a jump ball.

Which team, if any, is in team control?

Can a team call timeout? Can a player travel?

In both cases, I've always resorted to calling a jump ball. I remember being taught that in these situations there is no team control, and thus neither team can call a timeout.

I can't find a caseplay supporting this though, so I'm wondering if I've been taught this wrong.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5-1-2 "Player control foul after a goal?" Freddy Basketball 31 Wed Dec 21, 2011 03:43am
Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? fiasco Basketball 46 Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am
Backcourt violation "team control" wizard Basketball 13 Mon Feb 05, 2007 09:17am
"Team Control" Mechanics imaref Basketball 33 Fri Feb 02, 2007 07:21am
New "Team Control" Signal budjones05 Basketball 38 Thu Jan 11, 2007 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1