The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2015, 01:04pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer View Post
Last night we had the following situation:
Start of the fourth quarter and we inbounds the ball using the alternating possession arrow to the white team. ball is inbounds and the white team runs there offense where they put up a shot (that went in). Right before the shot and while the shooter is in the shooting motion (but hasn't released the ball) the horn sounds. When we go to the table they tell us we have given the ball to the wrong team on the alternating possession to start the quarter.

Here is how we handled it:

We didn't allow the basket and we gave the ball to White based on this is not a correctable error situation. We then made sure the alternating possession arrow was for Team blue.

1. Was this handled correctly?

2. We told the clock keeper to not buzz until a dead ball. Is this good advice or when would be a situaion where they might buzz during a live ball situation?

Thanks!


No, you did not handle this correctly.

1) Ignore the Horn until the Ball is Dead.

2) Score the FG Attempt by W1.

3) Keept the AP Arrow set to Blue.

4) Tell Blue's HC that he will get two of the next three AP Arrow Throw-ins (optional).

5) Put the Ball into play by a Throw-in by Blue anywhere behind the Endline in its Backcourt.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2015, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
I agree with the other posters ... score the goal and set the arrow to Blue.

However, to play devils advocate ... isn't there also a statement in the officials manual about the horn sounding inadvertantly. Don't have my book in front of me but I think it says something like "if the game horn is sounded, either official may recognize it with a whistle and stop any action, even to the extent of declaring that the ball did not become live".

Based on this, could the official recognize the horn, declare that the ball never became live, and award the AP to Blue? I'm guessing I'm missing something because this doesn't seem right, but curious to see what others would say.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2015, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
I agree with the other posters ... score the goal and set the arrow to Blue.

However, to play devils advocate ... isn't there also a statement in the officials manual about the horn sounding inadvertantly. Don't have my book in front of me but I think it says something like "if the game horn is sounded, either official may recognize it with a whistle and stop any action, even to the extent of declaring that the ball did not become live".

Based on this, could the official recognize the horn, declare that the ball never became live, and award the AP to Blue? I'm guessing I'm missing something because this doesn't seem right, but curious to see what others would say.
How can you "declare" the ball was never live? It was given to the player who inbounded it? There are very specific instances where action may be vacated and this isn't it.

Also like it was said before, the "horn" or "whistle" don't necessarily make the ball dead.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2015, 02:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
I agree with the other posters ... score the goal and set the arrow to Blue.

However, to play devils advocate ... isn't there also a statement in the officials manual about the horn sounding inadvertantly. Don't have my book in front of me but I think it says something like "if the game horn is sounded, either official may recognize it with a whistle and stop any action, even to the extent of declaring that the ball did not become live".

Based on this, could the official recognize the horn, declare that the ball never became live, and award the AP to Blue? I'm guessing I'm missing something because this doesn't seem right, but curious to see what others would say.
No, you can't. The rule is clear that once the throw in is complete, the AP error cannot be corrected. We don't get do-overs. Too much time has passed in this case from the time the ball became live until the horn sounded.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement FT for buzzer sounding? La Rikardo Basketball 35 Fri Jan 04, 2013 03:04pm
My sub was not allowed to enter and a buzzer in the middle of a FT attempt CoachJW Basketball 3 Sun Feb 14, 2010 02:27am
The Middle of the End mbyron Baseball 9 Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:47pm
Sounding Whistle to Acknowledge that Time has Expired Kajun Ref N Texas Basketball 3 Tue Dec 11, 2007 05:43pm
Only in Middle School Stat-Man Basketball 24 Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1