The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
i hear what your saying but i think rules require the touch.
Nope. We've had this conversation on the forum several times. The rule for a dribble does not require the ball to be touched after pushing it to the floor.

4.15.4 SITUATION A:

As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter Draws Foul (Video) APG Basketball 39 Fri Nov 07, 2014 08:13pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Travel or Not (with video) OrStBballRef Basketball 19 Fri Apr 20, 2012 03:04pm
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Did she travel or not ? ( video ) christianH Basketball 7 Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1