The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 08:45pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I thought you wouldn't call a violation of another teammate was in the area?

I wouldn't call it immediately if a teammate was in the area. But he was the first to touch, which seals the deal no matter what.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I wouldn't call it immediately if a teammate was in the area. But he was the first to touch, which seals the deal no matter what.
but not on the 1st page. i have edited it after seeing the video and added comments before you posted though...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 02:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I wouldn't call it immediately if a teammate was in the area. But he was the first to touch, which seals the deal no matter what.
He wasn't the first to touch. The defender got his hand underneath and got to the ball first.

Obviously if A1 is the first to touch, it's a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 04:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
He wasn't the first to touch. The defender got his hand underneath and got to the ball first.

Obviously if A1 is the first to touch, it's a travel.
isn't it a double dribble? by dropping the ball and being the 1st touch the ball after the drop.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 03:16pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The defender got his hand underneath and got to the ball first.
I missed it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 03:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Here's the deal, for those who haven't heard it before. As cited earlier by Nevada, when a dribble is illegal it occurs when the ball is pushed to the floor.

4.15.4 SITUATION A:

As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)


People say you can't judge intent. You can judge intent. We do it all the time on fouls. Two shots? Worst case scenario is this. A1 goes up to shoot, sees his shot will be blocked and drops the ball straight to the floor. He then assumes an aggressive stance and tries to screen the defender away from the ball while yelling to his teammate: "Hey, A2! Come get the ball. I can't touch it!" B1 then takes a swipe at the ball and knocks it out of bounds. If you didn't call the violation immediately, you give the ball back to Team A. I think this is wrong.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 04:41pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
Push It (Salt-N-Pepa, 1986) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
... when a dribble is illegal it occurs when the ball is pushed to the floor.
But one can also start a legal bounce pass when "the ball is pushed to the floor".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 19, 2015 at 04:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 07:43pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
But one can also start a legal bounce pass when "the ball is pushed to the floor".
A try which touches nothing may also hit the floor and the player may legally go and pick it up, but I have to judge that it was a try. If a player pushes/drops/throws the ball straight to the floor and there is no teammate there to retrieve the ball immediately, this is not a pass or a try. If it was not a fumble, then by default it is a dribble and is accompanied by the resulting consequences.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 08:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
Pass Or Dribble ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
... If a player pushes/drops/throws the ball straight to the floor and there is no teammate there to retrieve the ball immediately, this is not a pass or a try. If it was not a fumble, then by default it is a dribble and is accompanied by the resulting consequences.
So, if a ball handler picks up his dribble, expecting a teammate to cut right, makes a bounce pass to the right, but the teammate cuts left instead of right, and the pass is bounced to nobody, under those conditions you can determine if it was a pass, or a dibble?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2015, 02:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Here's the deal, for those who haven't heard it before. As cited earlier by Nevada, when a dribble is illegal it occurs when the ball is pushed to the floor.

4.15.4 SITUATION A:

As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)


People say you can't judge intent. You can judge intent. We do it all the time on fouls. Two shots? Worst case scenario is this. A1 goes up to shoot, sees his shot will be blocked and drops the ball straight to the floor. He then assumes an aggressive stance and tries to screen the defender away from the ball while yelling to his teammate: "Hey, A2! Come get the ball. I can't touch it!" B1 then takes a swipe at the ball and knocks it out of bounds. If you didn't call the violation immediately, you give the ball back to Team A. I think this is wrong.
This debate comes up about every 4 to 6 months. It's never solved by consensus, because the NFHS has given both sides a citation that supports opposing points of view:

Case Book 9.5: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent's backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (A); a team's own backboard is considered part of the team's "equipment" and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) (italics added)

(And, Fundamental 19 dispells any argument that the ball touching the backboard is inherently different from touching the floor.)
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2015, 03:27am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
This debate comes up about every 4 to 6 months. It's never solved by consensus, because the NFHS has given both sides a citation that supports opposing points of view:

Case Book 9.5: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent's backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (A); a team's own backboard is considered part of the team's "equipment" and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) (italics added)

(And, Fundamental 19 dispells any argument that the ball touching the backboard is inherently different from touching the floor.)
In the plays above it is clear that the intent of the ballhandler was not to dribble. A pass is when the ball is directed to another player. If the thrower is first to touch, the other player is eliminated from the play, creating the violation. Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard is a unique situation. It was either done by accident or in a misguided attempt to circumvent the rule.

In the case of the player who throws/drops the ball straight to the floor, often inches from his own foot, usually there is not another player to consider in the play. Therefore, in my opinion, it is an immediate violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2015, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
There's alot of ways you can see it if you really want to judge the play immediately after the player dropped the ball, in this case, he dropped the ball not in a way a player would normally start a dribble, the player might have "fumbled" and dropped the ball, by calling it double dribble instead of waiting to see how the play goes, sounds a bit unforgiving. Because players normally don't drop the ball to start a dribble, they bounce it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2015, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In the plays above it is clear that the intent of the ballhandler was not to dribble. A pass is when the ball is directed to another player. If the thrower is first to touch, the other player is eliminated from the play, creating the violation. Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard is a unique situation. It was either done by accident or in a misguided attempt to circumvent the rule.

In the case of the player who throws/drops the ball straight to the floor, often inches from his own foot, usually there is not another player to consider in the play. Therefore, in my opinion, it is an immediate violation.
Case Book play 9.5, to which I referred, cites Fundamental 19: "A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble." (italics added) This statement indicates that the precedence is "the ball touching the floor inbounds." Thus, any actions directly linked to "the ball touching the floor inbounds" that would constitute a legal/illegal dribble must be inherent in any actions related thereto, with exceptions as noted.

Case Book play 4.15.4 SITUATION A ignores the statement in Fundamental 19. And seems to me to be another hasty inerpretation of the dribble/illegal dribble rule.

That Case Book play is followed by 4.15.4 SITUATION C, which again uses the statement ". . . provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board." (italiccs added) This is consistent with Fundamental 19, and again leads one to believe that 4.15.4 A, is a mis-statement of the intent.

Perhaps the crux of the matter is one's understanding of the statement in 4-15-1 DRIBBLE . . . "A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times." (italics added) and its relation to 4-15-3 which defines the start of a dribble, and 4-15-4, which defines the end of a dribble.
In one train of thought, the start of the dribble constitutes a (complete)dribble, thus the immediate ruling that such action is illegal, if/when it follows the end of a previous dribble. However, by applying the definition of the end of a dribble, one is led to understand that a dribble must have a beginning and an end, to meet the definition of a (complete) dribble, and only then can a ruling of a legal/illegal dribble be effected.
In that second train of thought, the " . . . pushing, throwing or batting (of) the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted" as stated in 4-15-3 "may" be the start of a dribble, but that action can only be considered a (complete) dribble when and if the dribble is ended, as in 4-15-4. (italics added)
And that second train of thought leads one to the conclusion, as afore-stated, that when a legal dribble has ended, a subsequent ". . . pushing, throwing or batting (of) the ball to the floor, (or other surface of the playing apparatus, with exceptions noted) must be followed by ". . . the player being the first to touch the ball, thereafter" for that action to be considered a (complete) and therefore second, and thus an illegal dribble.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Tue Jan 20, 2015 at 11:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2015, 04:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
That's My Story And I'm (Probably) Sticking To It ...

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he throws the ball against ... the opponent’s backboard ... and catches the ball ... RULING: A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard ... constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes ... the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Fundamental 19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In the plays above it is clear that the intent of the ball handler was not to dribble. A pass is when the ball is directed to another player. If the thrower is first to touch, the other player is eliminated from the play, creating the violation.
A1 ends his dribble and throws the ball against his opponent's backboard. What are we going to call this "throw(ing)" motion?

It can be a fumble, but I think that the NFHS would have told us it was unintentional if they expected us to think that it was a fumble. So, it's not a fumble.

Maybe it's a pass? But some in this thread have stated that a pass must be to somebody, and I doubt that there was somebody sitting on top of the backboard. Maybe there was somebody waiting to catch the pass after the ball deflected off the backboard, but the NFHS did not give us that information either. So, it wasn't a pass. Which is much better stated in just another ref's post above.

Maybe it was a try? But it couldn't have been a try because we at know that you can't have a try at an opponent's basket. So, it wasn't a try.

Let's see? What left? A dribble. That's left. It must have been a dribble. The NFHS even tells us that it was a dribble in the casebook play ("constitutes another dribble").

So it was a dribble, and when does the NFHS want us to call this illegal (double) dribble violation?

When the ball is released (pushed to the floor, which in this case is the backboard) by the ball handler? No.

How about when the ball hits the backboard (pushed to the floor, which in this case is the backboard)? No.

How about when the ball hits the real floor? Again, another no.

It appears that the NFHS wants us to call the violation when "A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the board" (of course the backboard is the same as the floor in this case).

So it appears that the NFHS wants us to wait until A1 touches the ball before we call the violation. Why would they want us to wait? Because a few things could happen that would prevent the violation? Like what? What could happen to prevent the illegal (double) dribble violation from being called?

A teammate touches the ball first? Sure, that would prevent the violation from being called, it's just a very odd, but legal, bounce pass.

An opponent touches the ball first? Sure, that would prevent the violation from being called, and the opponent would probably get credit for a steal.

The ball bounces of the real floor and then out of bounds? That can happen.

As the ball bounces on the real floor a foul is called, or the horn sounds to end the period? All certainly possible.

Bottom line, the NFHS wants us to wait until the ball handler touches the ball again before we call an illegal (double) dribble violation. Not when the ball is released (pushed), and not when the ball hits the floor (or the opponent's backboard). The NFHS wants us to wait until the ball handler touches the ball again (after the release, and after the ball hit the floor) and then, and only then, we can call the illegal (double) dribble violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 20, 2015 at 04:52pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter Draws Foul (Video) APG Basketball 39 Fri Nov 07, 2014 08:13pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Travel or Not (with video) OrStBballRef Basketball 19 Fri Apr 20, 2012 03:04pm
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Did she travel or not ? ( video ) christianH Basketball 7 Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1