The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,658
Thumbs down New Case Play with incorrect ruling! 2014-15

Anyone else notice this new case play ruling?

4.14.1 SITUATION D: A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth. RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Anyone else notice this new case play ruling?

4.14.1 SITUATION D: A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth. RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)
When the NFHS issued their corrections before the season, this caseplay was one that was corrected. Shame on you for not noting it in your rule book ...

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Anyone else notice this new case play ruling?

4.14.1 SITUATION D: A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth. RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)
yes, player in game is still a player...even if he shouldnt be...not correctable error. i thought i saw a correction come through already. i thought i saw this play first in the case interp. then they fixed it and removed it. maybe not.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
When the NFHS issued their corrections before the season, this caseplay was one that was corrected. Shame on you for not noting it in your rule book ...

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)
Thanks, I'll go look at the corrections again. Irks me that someone with the NFHS would write such a ruling at all.

Here is the prior interp for this situation:
2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 6: Al is fouled and Team A is in the bonus. Before Al attempts the one-and-one, Al is whistled for a technical foul for taunting. Al goes to the free-throw line to attempt the one-and-one with no players lined up. Al makes the first free throw, then the horn sounds and the scorer indicates that Al’s technical foul was the fifth foul on Al. RULING: The result of Al’s first free throw shall stand and Al’s replacement shall attempt the remaining free throw (if the first was successful), before Team B shoots its technical foul free throws. COMMENT: This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw. Al was not officially disqualified until the coach was notified. (3-3-3; 4-14-2; 2-8-3; 2-10-lc)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,269
Pretty sure it was discussed when it came out (and maybe again when the correction came out). I do recognize that Nevada was AWOL for awhile during this time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,658
PS I don't have a physical copy of the current Case Book. My group didn't distribute them this year. I'm working from the online version, so I wasn't able to note the NFHS correction. I'll see if I can obtain a hard copy.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 07:29pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
You're slippin' Nevada.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 10:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,671
Pray Tell ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I'm working from the online version ...
What online version?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What online version?
The casebook you can access through Arbiter if you're a member... same as the rulebook access through Arbiter.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct or incorrect. If incorrect is this correctable? rawhi1 Basketball 16 Sat Jan 26, 2013 02:50am
what's wrong with this case ruling wanja Basketball 16 Wed Jan 11, 2012 02:23pm
Case Play 2.10.1.H vs 8.6.1 rwest Basketball 4 Thu Oct 09, 2008 07:45pm
NEW Case Book ruling!!! Nevadaref Basketball 37 Thu Nov 16, 2006 03:06pm
New Case Book Ruling APHP Basketball 5 Sat Aug 16, 2003 08:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1