![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Even if A2 was fouled after the buzzer, you could still have a shooting foul if A2 was an airborne shooter. Pretty sure this is also the case in NCAA, perhaps the only case where, with the benefit of checking time on a monitor, you'd be shooting free throws for a personal foul with no time left in the second half.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Under all Rules sets (NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, FIBA, and NBA/WNBA, the answer is yes and no. If A2,while airborne, is still in control of the ball when the buzzer sounds to end the period and then is "fouled" by B2, there is no foul. If A2 releases the ball prior to the buzzers sounds to end the period, then you can have foul by B2 against A2. It is past my bedtime so Good Night all. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
He used the term "airborne shooter." By definition (FED and NCAW, at least), that already means that the ball has been released on a try. The first part of your explanation, while correct, does not apply. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I told you it was past my bedtime, .MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Correct me if I am wrong but can the following situation also occur?
A1 jumps for a shot and is fouled by B1. Time then expires and A1 releases the shot which goes n or doesn't. Doesn't really matter either way. In this case you have a shooting foul, the shot if made is wiped as it was late. Two or three shots depending on spot of foul with No time on clock and lane cleared. |
|
|||
|
When should the clock have stopped?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Incorrect in college games w/ monitor. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
On a separate note, while I was pondering this, I remembered something in the rules differences chart at the back of the NFHS rulebook about there being "no rule" for airborne shooter under NCAAM. Upon further review, this only applies to player control fouls, i.e. an airborne shooter cannot be charged with a PCF under NCAAM like he/she can be under NFHS/NCAAW. The concept of an airborne shooter being fouled by a defender (i.e. in the act of shooting) is still perfectly valid in NCAAM. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Game Situation | habram | Basketball | 14 | Fri Dec 06, 2013 09:01am |
| Game Situation | radwaste50 | Baseball | 9 | Sun May 08, 2005 10:34pm |
| Big Game Situation | RookieDude | Basketball | 3 | Sat Dec 25, 2004 01:26am |
| End of Game Situation | BigGref | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:41am |
| Quick Passing Game Quiz | mikesears | Football | 4 | Fri May 23, 2003 11:52am |