The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 11:04pm
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesterfield VA
Posts: 219
returning inbounds...

A1 makes a fast break layup and ends up legally out of bounds. B1 retrieves ball and is in the process of throwing the ball inbounds. A1 (returning to the court from directly behind B1) deflects the pass [a] after one of his feet touches the floor inbounds [b] while still airborne (both feet last touched OB). (Obviously, [b] results in at least a ruling of A1 making the ball have OB status).

Ruling?

(Everything I found assumed all defenders start the play in bounds).

What if A1 hit the ball while it was still in B1's hands while the hands were over in bounds area?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 11:36pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
A1 makes a fast break layup and ends up legally out of bounds. B1 retrieves ball and is in the process of throwing the ball inbounds. A1 (returning to the court from directly behind B1) deflects the pass [a] after one of his feet touches the floor inbounds [b] while still airborne (both feet last touched OB). (Obviously, [b] results in at least a ruling of A1 making the ball have OB status).

Ruling?

(Everything I found assumed all defenders start the play in bounds).

What if A1 hit the ball while it was still in B1's hands while the hands were over in bounds area?
A. Nothing. A1's inbound status makes this a perfectly legal play.

B. Tough to see this happening without a Intentional/Technical foul involved for contacting the thrower/the ball while in the throwers hands, but assuming neither of those happen it's an OOB violation, give B a spot throw-in on the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2014, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,239
C. If the defender has gained inbounds status and hits only the ball while the thrower is holding it through the boundary plane and over the inbounds area, then, the play is legal per a note in the section on throw-ins in rules book.

D. If the defender still has OOB status when he contacts the ball being held on the inbounds side of the boundary plane, then simply an OOB violation if the ball is knocked loose should be called and nothing if the thrower is able to retain control.

E. If the ball is being held on the outside of the boundary plane when touched by the defender, then a technical foul has occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2014, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,700
1. when A gets one foot down and the other is up in the air he does have inbound status. in your play i would still want to know where the rest of him is. the plane of the end line runs straight up to the ceiling. he can have inbound status but if his arm is through the plane or the leg is through the plane (while off the ground) and that helps him touch the ball i would consider a violation for breaking plane before ball is released.

2. if the thrower in holds the ball through the end line plane, over inbounds, the opponent can grab the ball from him, tie him up etc. legal but risky for opponent. if he hits the thrower in on the arm and you call a foul it is intentional by rule..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2014, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
...is in the process of throwing the ball inbounds...
Has the throw-in pass been released when the ball is touched?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2014, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,804
NCAAW has a similar case play. I'd apply the same general logic.

A.R. 188. A1 is inbounding the ball along her endline. A1 fakes a pass to
player A2, which draws B2 airborne in an attempt to intercept the ball. B2
lands out of bounds. A1 releases the ball with a pass to player A2 who is on
the playing court;
(1) B2 leaves the floor from out of bounds, breaks the boundary-line
plane and while airborne, touches the pass to A2 after it crosses the
boundary-line plane; or
(2) B2, while out of bounds, touches the pass as it is released by A1 but
before it crosses the boundary line plane.
RULING: In (1) and (2), B2 has committed an out-of-bounds
violation because B2 was last in contact with the floor when
she was out of bounds and then contacted the ball before B2
touches the floor inbounds.
(Rule 9-5.2.b, 4-23 and 9-4.1)
In (2), B2 touched the ball before it crossed the vertical inside
plane of the boundary line. This is not a technical foul because the
ball was being passed to a player on the playing court and not to
a teammate who was out of bounds such as after a successful goal.
(Rule 4-23, 4-10.1.g and 10-3.8)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Returning after TO slow whistle Basketball 18 Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:54pm
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
Returning Starter Saltydog Baseball 5 Tue May 10, 2005 11:02pm
Is returning to first legal? dfeigin@yahoo.com Baseball 6 Tue Jun 03, 2003 01:05am
Returning to the Diamond Mackey Baseball 0 Tue Mar 07, 2000 05:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1