![]() |
|
|
|||
NCAAW has a similar case play. I'd apply the same general logic.
A.R. 188. A1 is inbounding the ball along her endline. A1 fakes a pass to player A2, which draws B2 airborne in an attempt to intercept the ball. B2 lands out of bounds. A1 releases the ball with a pass to player A2 who is on the playing court; (1) B2 leaves the floor from out of bounds, breaks the boundary-line plane and while airborne, touches the pass to A2 after it crosses the boundary-line plane; or (2) B2, while out of bounds, touches the pass as it is released by A1 but before it crosses the boundary line plane. RULING: In (1) and (2), B2 has committed an out-of-bounds violation because B2 was last in contact with the floor when she was out of bounds and then contacted the ball before B2 touches the floor inbounds. (Rule 9-5.2.b, 4-23 and 9-4.1) In (2), B2 touched the ball before it crossed the vertical inside plane of the boundary line. This is not a technical foul because the ball was being passed to a player on the playing court and not to a teammate who was out of bounds such as after a successful goal. (Rule 4-23, 4-10.1.g and 10-3.8) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Returning after TO | slow whistle | Basketball | 18 | Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:54pm |
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? | BoBo | Football | 3 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am |
Returning Starter | Saltydog | Baseball | 5 | Tue May 10, 2005 11:02pm |
Is returning to first legal? | [email protected] | Baseball | 6 | Tue Jun 03, 2003 01:05am |
Returning to the Diamond | Mackey | Baseball | 0 | Tue Mar 07, 2000 05:06pm |