The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 09:28am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
... I really do not believe that the Defender that took the charge can be classified as a Secondary Defender in the play because the Offensive Player had been passed his original Defender so as to be classifed as an Offensive Player who was not being defended and therefore a new Defensive Player started to guard him.

MTD, Sr.
Then you're failing to grasp the definition of secondary defender as put forth my NCAA-Men's basketball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 10:01am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Then you're failing to grasp the definition of secondary defender as put forth my NCAA-Men's basketball.

Hypothetical question. Assume this contact occurred in the RA, would you call a block because the secondary defender cannot establish initial LGP in the RA, or is the RA not in effect since the player who got the offensive rebound went immediately to the basket, thus eliminating the secondary defender rule?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
Hypothetical question. Assume this contact occurred in the RA, would you call a block because the secondary defender cannot establish initial LGP in the RA, or is the RA not in effect since the player who got the offensive rebound went immediately to the basket, thus eliminating the secondary defender rule?
NCAAW: Because the drive started outside the LDB, contact inside the RA cannot be a charge (absent a leading knee, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 04:01pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAAW: Because the drive started outside the LDB, contact inside the RA cannot be a charge (absent a leading knee, etc.)

Interesting that NCAA-W does not have the immediate move by the rebounder exception. Also, NCAA-M does not have LDB
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 11:14am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
Hypothetical question. Assume this contact occurred in the RA, would you call a block because the secondary defender cannot establish initial LGP in the RA, or is the RA not in effect since the player who got the offensive rebound went immediately to the basket, thus eliminating the secondary defender rule?
Though he made an immediate move, he did have a primary defender on him when he started his move.

I always took the rebounding exception to mean that the first defender encountered was a defender in the RA.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Dec 04, 2014 at 04:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 04:00pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Though he made an immediate move, he did have a primary defender on him when he started his move.

I already took the rebounding exception to mean that the first defender encountered was a defender in the RA.
I would consider this a secondary defender as well, but I am not sure how I would rule an RA play in this case. The rebounding exception doesn't say anything about how many defenders encountered, it just says there are no secondary defenders when the rebounder makes an immediate move to the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 04:22pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I would consider this a secondary defender as well, but I am not sure how I would rule an RA play in this case. The rebounding exception doesn't say anything about how many defenders encountered, it just says there are no secondary defenders when the rebounder makes an immediate move to the basket.
Would the pump fake and then dribble take away the "immediate move to the basket" part of the NCAA-M interp on this play? Seems like the immediate move would have been him going up for the intial shot, but by pump faking and dribbling away from that defender...??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baylor-Nebraska video please OKREF Basketball 1 Fri Mar 21, 2014 06:05pm
NC State/Clemson (W)...near blarge (video) JetMetFan Basketball 14 Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:43am
Florida-Nebraska chapmaja Softball 21 Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:08pm
Video Request: Michigan v. Florida (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Apr 01, 2013 06:43am
Florida State/Mississippi State Tech theboys Basketball 3 Wed Mar 21, 2007 11:25am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1