![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm saying that in that Case Book play, we should understand that the player ended his dribble and then fumbled the ball BEFORE lifting his pivot foot. Thus there is no problem with the provision of the traveling rule and he may go retrieve the ball.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tell me what you do on the jump stop play. (the one where player ends dribble with one foot on floor, jumps and lands simultaneously on two feet. neither can be a pivot.) plz assume player touches ball with two hands just prior to the foot leaving the ground. fumbles while in air in process of ending dribble. ball goes 5 feet away. he goes and recovers. thx |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
lets say he fumbled the ball just after he left the ground. he didnt have a pivot foot at the time but he also wasnt required to to shoot or pass. he could come down simultaneously on both feet.
Last edited by BigCat; Thu Nov 27, 2014 at 12:11am. |
|
|||
|
As you state, by rule he isn't required to either pass or shoot in this instance, so I don't see the problem. If you can't identify a rule which he is violating, then his action is legal.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
anyway, ive seen case interps come out completely wrong. i just wonder how much the 2000 play you cited was looked at scrutinized etc. has it been over the years and reaffirmed by nfhs? why has it not made it into the book? Happy Thanksgving to all. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| shot attempt | PP | Basketball | 1 | Thu Feb 20, 2014 09:49am |
| shot attempt or travel | phansen | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 19, 2014 01:21pm |
| Shot attempt or on the floor?? | SeanFitzRef | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 01, 2006 09:10pm |
| Shot Attempt | wyoref | Basketball | 2 | Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:53am |
| Shot attempt or not | Jake80 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 29, 2003 03:52pm |