The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2004, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
What does a shot or attempted shot have to hit prior to being touched again by the shooter? Can you shoot it off the backboard to yourself? Is there a differnce between college and high school?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2004, 04:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
A shot attempt doesn't need to hit anything for the player to have the ability to recover it and have a new dribble to use. Only in the NBA is there a restriction on this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to firedoc
The only requirement is that the official believes that the "shot" was indeed intended to be a "shot". Once that decision is made any player can pick up the ball since both team and player control has ended.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1