The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 17, 2014, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Post Uconn v Stanford Women's (Video)

Going into the under 8 timeout with 7:50 left or so. Charge call but it looked like she was on the RA.

Anybody else see it or able to post video? Interested in the thoughts of the college officials.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 17, 2014, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Not only that, but Brenda Pantoja just gave a one-finger directional signal after a monitor review!

Last edited by bballref3966; Mon Nov 17, 2014 at 11:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 17, 2014, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Foul signal

On Stanford's three to tie the game with a second left, from the opposite end line camera angle, you can see the lead go up with a fist and switch it to a three point signal when it is good. A case of a brain fart for her or was she going to call a foul if it was missed?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 17, 2014, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
I saw the RA play, too. Looked to be in the RA, I think the C is supposed to help out on that.

In other news, Doris Burke just threw a fit about a foul call at 2:13 in OT. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who doesn't care for her!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 02:46am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 06:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
I saw the RA play, too. Looked to be in the RA, I think the C is supposed to help out on that.

In other news, Doris Burke just threw a fit about a foul call at 2:13 in OT. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who doesn't care for her!
Looked like the C is pointing at something about the time the L makes the punch.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 07:01am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
CHARGE!!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 09:01am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Looked like the C is pointing at something about the time the L makes the punch.
It looks like the C is pointing at the L with the "You got this one" point...which, as JMF said, is wrong. Should have been C's call all the way. And it also kind of looks like the L is surprised that the C is giving it up.

And JMF, I agree - it will be on the hub some time this week!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 04:05pm
Certified Non-Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In the state where the Christmas trees grow
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Looked like the C is pointing at something about the time the L makes the punch.
I agree with this. And what I think she's pointing at is the RA, not telling the L to "take it". As if to say to the L "You saw she was over the RA, right?" Then L comes out and bangs a charge. From outside her primary. Like others have said, just a guess on my part.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 06:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
Going into the under 8 timeout with 7:50 left or so. Charge call but it looked like she was on the RA.

Anybody else see it or able to post video? Interested in the thoughts of the college officials.
It would appear it was missed. According to our mechanics the wrong official made the call as well. It should have been the C's all the way with the L as help.

I'd be stunned if that one wasn't clipped and sent to the assignor and/or if it doesn't find its way to our Central Hub on Arbiter.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
On Stanford's three to tie the game with a second left, from the opposite end line camera angle, you can see the lead go up with a fist and switch it to a three point signal when it is good. A case of a brain fart for her or was she going to call a foul if it was missed?
Just watched it. She may have mulligan-ed. Went up with the fist because she saw contact then thought better of it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
In other news, Doris Burke just threw a fit about a foul call at 2:13 in OT. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who doesn't care for her!
Not really a "fit" but the call may have left a little to be desired. Where UConn could complain is the signal given was a push/two-hand touch and UConn #41 never put two hands on the BH/dribbler.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)

Last edited by JetMetFan; Tue Nov 18, 2014 at 07:00am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
White 41, guarding Blue 30, slid over to take the charge. Would she be considered a secondary defender?
If so, does that change the mind-set of the C and L, as to which official takes the call?
Would that explain the point by the C, that seems to indicate that L should take the call?
Is there a difference as to which official takes that call, based on when/where the ballhandler received the pass, that is, as she crossed the freethrow line extended, or if she had received the pass higher, on her path to the basket?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
White 41, guarding Blue 30, slid over to take the charge. Would she be considered a secondary defender?
If so, does that change the mind-set of the C and L, as to which official takes the call?
Would that explain the point by the C, that seems to indicate that L should take the call?
Is there a difference as to which official takes that call, based on when/where the ballhandler received the pass, that is, as she crossed the freethrow line extended, or if she had received the pass higher, on her path to the basket?
On drives from C to L, C takes the call (in NCAAW).

On a fastbreak, any defensive player is a secondary defender (in NCAAW)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
White 41, guarding Blue 30, slid over to take the charge. Would she be considered a secondary defender?
If so, does that change the mind-set of the C and L, as to which official takes the call?
Would that explain the point by the C, that seems to indicate that L should take the call?
Is there a difference as to which official takes that call, based on when/where the ballhandler received the pass, that is, as she crossed the freethrow line extended, or if she had received the pass higher, on her path to the basket?
A couple of things. Here's a screen grab of the moment UConn #30 establishes PC:



*Once the UConn player caught the pass, she was in the C's PCA. Any contact on the C's side of the lane is hers. The L is supposed to help if needed.
*She caught the pass/began her move outside the LDB so the RA is on (I'm teaching myself to go through that thought process).
*By rule, every defender in a fast break situation is a secondary defender (NCAAW 4.35.2). We have to expect the player closest to the goal is going to slide over.

What I think happened - and this is obviously just a guess - is even though we only see a fist from the C, the L may have blown her whistle first and that threw off the C's concentration. The L didn't see the C make a call and instead of telling the C to take it, she kept it.

I'm making that guess based on something that happened to me in a scrimmage about ten days ago. Same type of fast break situation, I'm the C but the contact was actually on the block nearest to me as opposed to deeper in the lane. My L not only had a whistle he also had a preliminary. Thankfully we both had a block but hearing his whistle when I didn't expect anyone else to blow threw me off and my mechanics on the play were horrible.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 11:29am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post

What I think happened - and this is obviously just a guess - is even though we only see a fist from the C, the L may have blown her whistle first and that threw off the C's concentration. The L didn't see the C make a call and instead of telling the C to take it, she kept it.

.
I can see that as a possibility...sure looks like the L is waiting for the C to take the call. And then when C points to L, she hits her whistle again (ugh) and sells the signal.

Would love to hear from the C why she gave that up.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 11:40am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
A couple of things. Here's a screen grab of the moment UConn #30 establishes PC:



*Once the UConn player caught the pass, she was in the C's PCA. Any contact on the C's side of the lane is hers. The L is supposed to help if needed.
*She caught the pass/began her move outside the LDB so the RA is on (I'm teaching myself to go through that thought process).
*By rule, every defender in a fast break situation is a secondary defender (NCAAW 4.35.2). We have to expect the player closest to the goal is going to slide over.

What I think happened - and this is obviously just a guess - is even though we only see a fist from the C, the L may have blown her whistle first and that threw off the C's concentration. The L didn't see the C make a call and instead of telling the C to take it, she kept it.

I'm making that guess based on something that happened to me in a scrimmage about ten days ago. Same type of fast break situation, I'm the C but the contact was actually on the block nearest to me as opposed to deeper in the lane. My L not only had a whistle he also had a preliminary. Thankfully we both had a block but hearing his whistle when I didn't expect anyone else to blow threw me off and my mechanics on the play were horrible.

JetManFan:

You forgot the most important word in NCAAW R4-S35-A2: "initially". When B-11 gained PC of the Ball there was no defender between her and the Basket. W-41 established a LGP against B-11 before B-11 became airborne.

I agree that in theory the C should have this play all the way to the Basket. And in this type of play the L has a good look at W-41 coming from her PCA to establish a LGP. My problem is that the L may have been straight-lined just before B-11 became airborne, none-the-less, this was an easy charge for the C to get.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Tue Nov 18, 2014 at 01:16pm. Reason: Corrected typo in last sentence of first paragraph.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stanford/UConn bballref3966 Basketball 0 Sun Apr 06, 2014 09:22pm
Video Reuest - Stanford/Kansas (Video) RefCT Basketball 11 Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:32pm
Stanford-California Video Request (Video) VTOfficial Basketball 21 Sun Feb 09, 2014 01:10pm
UConn Women Technical (Video Added) pfan1981 Basketball 35 Mon Apr 01, 2013 02:47pm
LSU/Stanford charge (Women's) Raymond Basketball 108 Fri Mar 31, 2006 06:34am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1