The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 11:40am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
A couple of things. Here's a screen grab of the moment UConn #30 establishes PC:



*Once the UConn player caught the pass, she was in the C's PCA. Any contact on the C's side of the lane is hers. The L is supposed to help if needed.
*She caught the pass/began her move outside the LDB so the RA is on (I'm teaching myself to go through that thought process).
*By rule, every defender in a fast break situation is a secondary defender (NCAAW 4.35.2). We have to expect the player closest to the goal is going to slide over.

What I think happened - and this is obviously just a guess - is even though we only see a fist from the C, the L may have blown her whistle first and that threw off the C's concentration. The L didn't see the C make a call and instead of telling the C to take it, she kept it.

I'm making that guess based on something that happened to me in a scrimmage about ten days ago. Same type of fast break situation, I'm the C but the contact was actually on the block nearest to me as opposed to deeper in the lane. My L not only had a whistle he also had a preliminary. Thankfully we both had a block but hearing his whistle when I didn't expect anyone else to blow threw me off and my mechanics on the play were horrible.

JetManFan:

You forgot the most important word in NCAAW R4-S35-A2: "initially". When B-11 gained PC of the Ball there was no defender between her and the Basket. W-41 established a LGP against B-11 before B-11 became airborne.

I agree that in theory the C should have this play all the way to the Basket. And in this type of play the L has a good look at W-41 coming from her PCA to establish a LGP. My problem is that the L may have been straight-lined just before B-11 became airborne, none-the-less, this was an easy charge for the C to get.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Tue Nov 18, 2014 at 01:16pm. Reason: Corrected typo in last sentence of first paragraph.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 12:21pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Mark, this IS NOT a charge period.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Mark, this IS NOT a charge period.
By the RA rule, you're correct, it is a block. But there is nothing about this play that "should" make it a block aside from an arbitrary line on the court.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:14pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
By the RA rule, you're correct, it is a block. But there is nothing about this play that "should" make it a block aside from an arbitrary line on the court.
I think that is the point. The RA is at play. If it was not, then Mark or anyone would have a case for a charge.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:18pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
By the RA rule, you're correct, it is a block. But there is nothing about this play that "should" make it a block aside from an arbitrary line on the court.
Okay...and?

This is an RA play...short of Mark not knowing the rule, there's no case for a charge on this play.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
W-41 established a LGP against B-11 before W-41 became airborne.
Typo? Or, am I missing something.

And, I agree that this should NOT have been a PC foul because of the RA.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:18pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Typo? Or, am I missing something.

And, I agree that this should NOT have been a PC foul because of the RA.

Bob:

It was a typo and I corrected it.

This is a charge because A-41 was the primary defender therefore, the RA is not relevant to the play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:23pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Bob:

It was a typo and I corrected it.

This is a charge because A-41 was the primary defender therefore, the RA is not relevant to the play.

MTD, Sr.
Unless the rule is different in Women's, on a fast break everyone is a secondary defender.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:24pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Bob:

It was a typo and I corrected it.

This is a charge because A-41 was the primary defender therefore, the RA is not relevant to the play.

MTD, Sr.
1. This is a fast break

2. The defender is a help defender who came to help off the player she was initially guarding in the paint...this also makes her a secondary defender.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:35pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,172
1) NCAAW R4-S35-A2 states that in a fast break situation all defenders are initially secondary defenders. That does not mean that all defenders are secondary defenders during the entire fast break play which would be nonsense. At some point during the fast break play there is the possibility that there will be a defender who will become the primary defender against the ball handler. By rule the RA applies to a secondary defender and does not apply to the primary defender.

2) As Warner Wolfe would say: "Lets go to the video!" When B-11 gains PC control of the ball she has a clear path to the Basket; there are no defenders between her and the Basket. She is not being defended. That means when A-41 established a LGP against B-11, she became the primary defender against B-11. The RA does not apply in this situation and B-11 charges into A-41.

3) If one takes the position that NCAAW R4-S35-A2 means that there cannot ever be a primary defender during a fast break play, then in the play being discussed, no defender would be allowed to defend B-11 once she gains PC of the Ball and has to be allowed to drive to the Basket uncontested, which in nonsense.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
then in the play being discussed, no defender would be allowed to defend B-11 once she gains PC of the Ball and has to be allowed to drive to the Basket uncontested, which in nonsense.

MTD, Sr.
That's not at all what the rule says or what the rule means.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 01:41pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post

3) If one takes the position that NCAAW R4-S35-A2 means that there cannot ever be a primary defender during a fast break play, then in the play being discussed, no defender would be allowed to defend B-11 once she gains PC of the Ball and has to be allowed to drive to the Basket uncontested, which in nonsense.

MTD, Sr.
That is not what the rule says at all. I'm not really sure how you came to that conclusion.



NCAA-W Case Book (2014-2015)

A.R. 96. Team A is on a 3 on 2 or a 2 on 3 fast break, and any player on Team B takes an initial guarding position (1) within the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, or (2) outside the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent in an attempt to draw a player control/charging foul. A2, who is located outside the lower defensive box, receives a pass before making her move to the basket and crashes into the torso of the Team B player, and the official calls a player control/charging foul.

RULING: (1) The official is incorrect. The Team B player may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area when guarding a player who has the ball and was located outside the lower defensive box when she started her move to the basket, and the illegal contact by B is a blocking foul. (2) The official is correct. Even though the Team B player is initially a secondary defender, she did not establish initial guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, it shall be a player control/charging foul. (Rule 4-30, 4-35.3 and 10-1.13)

This clip is literally this case book play save for it being a 4 v 3 fast break.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Post Adding to the fire

The other interesting thing about this play is they had to go to the monitor to figure out who the foul was on. Obviously the RA was not reviewable but they weren't sure of the player.

It seems like both officials had a lapse during the play. They were not sure who was going to come out with it and then they forgot to get the player.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 03:55pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
This just reminded me why I hate the RA.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
1) NCAAW R4-S35-A2 states that in a fast break situation all defenders are initially secondary defenders. That does not mean that all defenders are secondary defenders during the entire fast break play which would be nonsense. At some point during the fast break play there is the possibility that there will be a defender who will become the primary defender against the ball handler. By rule the RA applies to a secondary defender and does not apply to the primary defender.
Mark, they're initially secondary defenders as far as the RA is concerned. Defenders on a fast break can always draw PC fouls as long as they establish LGP outside the RA.

I can't find the interp - which annoys me - but I remember being told they keep secondary defender status until the offense shoots or stops attacking the goal.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stanford/UConn bballref3966 Basketball 0 Sun Apr 06, 2014 09:22pm
Video Reuest - Stanford/Kansas (Video) RefCT Basketball 11 Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:32pm
Stanford-California Video Request (Video) VTOfficial Basketball 21 Sun Feb 09, 2014 01:10pm
UConn Women Technical (Video Added) pfan1981 Basketball 35 Mon Apr 01, 2013 02:47pm
LSU/Stanford charge (Women's) Raymond Basketball 108 Fri Mar 31, 2006 06:34am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1