Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
2014 IAABO Refresher Exam (Reflects NFHS Rules)
33. Substitute A-6 enters the court while the live ball is in control of Team A and the clock is ruing. The officials are unaware that Team B has six players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which Team A requests and is granted a timeout. The scorer now informs the officials that Team B had six players on the court. The referee rules the statute of limitations to penalize has expired. Is the official correct?
Answer key states that, "No", the official was incorrect in his interpretation.
Let's go to the videotape:
10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously ... (Art. 6) Penalized if discovered while being violated.
10-2-2: A substitute shall not enter the court: ART. 2 Without being beckoned by an official, except between quarters and during time-outs. PENALTY: (Section 2) Two free throws plus ball for division line throw-in. One foul for either or both requirements. Penalized if discovered before the ball becomes live.
This was the rule reference given by the Refresher Exam session moderator:
10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.
Three questions:
1) Has the statute of limitations to penalize expired for having more than five team members participating simultaneously?
2) Has the statute of limitations to penalize expired for the substitute entering without being beckoned?
3) Can either rule (six, or unbeckoned) be enforced if the officials do not actually see the violation (in the exam question, only the scorer noticed the infraction)?
|
1. It has expired. It must be discovered while there is 6 in game. The 6th player was off the floor. Nothing in the play suggests that anyone "discovered" or knew that there were 6 players until after he was off floor.
2. No. The substitute entered during a live ball. The definition you cited doesn't address this. If the ball is already live when he runs in you can't catch it " before it becomes live." Thus the case book play. Make it that you have to catch it during the first dead ball.
3. Need to think more on this one. Eat dinner. Will get back to it....