![]() |
|
|||
Odd Throw-in
This play happened to me in my last game of the season. I'll try to describe as best as I can.
Team B scored a basket. Team B coach called timeout (they were behind). Team A retains the right to run the endline on the throw-in. As we resume play, two Team A players were standing OOB: A1 next to me and A2 on the other side of the lane. At first, I did not know what was going on so I asked A2 standing OOB (the one farther from me) that he can't stay OOB and should go on the court. He reluctantly did so. I blew my whistle, handed the ball to A1 for the throw-in. As soon as I handed the ball, A2 went OOB again. After about 2 secs on my count, A1 passed the ball to A2 and then A2 proceeded to throw-in the ball with no other issues. I let the play continue. There was some defensive pressure on the back court, so after this whole episode happened, it finally occurred to me what Team A was doing. Sort of like a trick play to let the defense initially pressure A1 who ended up being a decoy. Not necessary for this play (imo) since there was no real man-to-man pressure on A1. Obviously something the coach drew up and wanted executed. Is there a violation on this? My initial thought was no (hence I didn't call anything) since this would be no different than had the timeout not been called - A1 picking up the ball after the basket, goes OOB then A2 asking for the ball to do the throw-in instead. I reasoned that since Team A retained "run the endline", this play was fine as well. Of course there's no question that this is not legal if it were a spot throw-in, once the ball is at A1's disposal. |
|
|||
Always listen to bob
NFHS Rules 7-5-7 a.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() Last edited by Rob1968; Thu Mar 27, 2014 at 10:13am. |
|
|||
What about the first part of the OP scenario? What is the authority for having A2 step back onto the court before the throw-in gets underway? Is A2 considered to have left the court for an unauthorized reason, under NFHS 9-3-3? Intuitively, I think actuary77 handled it properly (and "preventively"), but I cannot find anything specific to this situation.
|
|
|||
My only thing to add on this is I've seen teams try to execute this play when they had a spot throw in, which is a violation. If you aren't paying attention (which I wasn' the first time it happened) you will miss that. I didnt miss it the second time the did it.
You also have to watch for the defender breakng the plane and knocking the pass away. That would be a technical foul. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Sadly I saw this play in my first Middle School game and called a violation. Consulted my partner but he agreed with me. Thankfully didn't have to whack the coach.
My questions (since there appear to be no case plays): is there a limit on the number of times the players can pass between each other? Can both players run the end line simultaneously? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Rule 7-5-7(a): "Any player...may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary." The plural implies more than one teammate OOB and more than one pass. I missed this earlier.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fumble on throw in and free throw | billyu2 | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm |
throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
AP Throw In | hbioteach | Basketball | 1 | Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:46pm |
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |