The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 16, 2014, 04:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
First, I don't think either of us will let the expectations of a coach be the deciding factor in anything. Second, I don't think of this as something that happens often enough to create an expectation. How many have you personally been involved in?
Twice, only once in a real game. It was my first year as a college official. Other official involved now refs mostly in the D-League.

The other time was in my 2nd or 3rd year as an official, in a local HS camp. It was just discussed in our morning meeting with the camp director (NCAA D1 official who started his career in my local association). It was clearly stated when to report a blarge.

But I have seen instances, mostly in camps or AAU ball, where conflicting signals were given and the coaches expected both fouls to be reported.

I didn't say coaches were the deciding factor, I asked where they learned this expectation. Because one thing is for sure, it is not officials who write the rules.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Mar 16, 2014 at 05:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 16, 2014, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Dictionary definition of rule: to decide or declare judicially or authoritatively

This, to me, is a perfect description of this play, with the keyword being decide.
This decision results in the call, which is subsequently reported to the table.

A whistle or a signal is neither a ruling nor a call. Either may be done by accident. Not true with a ruling. In no other place in the rules does a signal obligate us to do anything. Why would it possibly do so here?
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The ruling (decision) takes place in your head. It is immediately followed by a whistle and a signal to communicate this decision to others. This ruling (decision) can be changed before the call is reported, sometimes resulting in no call at all.

"My partner had granted a timeout before the foul."
Read the definition of the word rule that you posted. You focused on the wrong part of the definition.

If the official declares what they have, they have ruled, by your definition. Showing a signal is declaring what you have.

Well, that should settle that. Next topic.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 16, 2014, 07:14pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If the official declares what they have, they have ruled, by your definition. Showing a signal is declaring what you have.
There's no reason why, after gathering more information, one cannot change his ruling.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 05:57am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
What's So Special About A Blarge ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
There's no reason why, after gathering more information, one cannot change his ruling.
Absolutely true, in many play situations, but, for some reason, in this specific situation (blarge), the NFHS, according to this caseplay, doesn't want us to do that, and to stick with two decisions, one that is probably wrong.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 10:41am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Absolutely true, in many play situations, but, for some reason, in this specific situation (blarge), the NFHS, according to this caseplay, doesn't want us to do that, and to stick with two decisions, one that is probably wrong.
Probably wrong? If you report a block and a charge on the same contact one will always be wrong.

And have you not read the thread? This is exactly what the Director of Sports and Officials Education for the NFHS does not want you to do.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #81 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 01:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The casebook is clear about what to do when both fouls are reported. The question is whether both fouls must be reported when conflicting signals are given. The answer was no. But if you didn't understand the question, I suppose it is no surprise that you didn't understand the answer.
No, it says nothing about "reported" either (in the case play). The question is how is 'ruled' defined, and can you alter your ruling once you make it?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 01:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
There's no reason why, after gathering more information, one cannot change his ruling.
My follow up question would be simple at this point, since you have her attention.

Similar to bob's.

"To what situation does this case play refer?"
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 02:37pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
We Should Charge A Fee ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This is exactly what the Director of Sports and Officials Education for the NFHS does not want you to do.
... and the director publicizes rule interpretations through the Forum? Yeah, that will reach a wide audience, maybe several hundred, at the most?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 02:43pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Can someone post the language from the NCAA-Women's rule/case play? I know the gist of the rule, primary takes the call. But I'm wondering what the "trigger" for the rule/case play is in their rule books.

IOW, what determines that 2 officials "ruled" or "called" conflicting fouls in the NCAA-Women's play?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 02:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Can someone post the language from the NCAA-Women's rule/case play? I know the gist of the rule, primary takes the call. But I'm wondering what the "trigger" for the rule/case play is in their rule books.

IOW, what determines that 2 officials "ruled" or "called" conflicting fouls in the NCAA-Women's play?
This reminds me: what's the wording in NCAAM?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 03:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
This reminds me: what's the wording in NCAAM?
I can't find any in the current rule or case book.

Edit: thanks Bob, I searched for "calls player control" instead of "calls a player-control".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Mar 17, 2014 at 03:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
NCAAW:

A.R. 161. A1 drives to the basket and:
1. The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or
2. The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.
RULING 1 and 2: When the officials signal simultaneously, they shall
get together and agree to give the call to the official who had the play
originate in his/her primary. When the officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which foul occurred first.
Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to the official scorer
and the appropriate penalty is assessed.
(Rule 4-5, 4-7, 4-15 and 4-17.1)

NCAAM:

A.R. 158. A1 drives to the basket and:
1. The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or
2. The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.
RULING: This is uncharacteristic of a double personal foul in which
two officials adjudicate the fouls differently against two opponents for
the same contact. In (1) and (2), the two officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously.
1: The ball shall be awarded to Team A, the team in control, at the
point of interruption with no reset of the shot clock.
(Rule 2-11.7.f, 7-3.1.d, 7-4.8 and 4-15.2.b)
2: The two officials disagree as to whether there was a charge or a
block, however, before contact occurred, the ball was released by
A1. Although there is no team control while a ball is in flight,
when the goal is successful, play shall resume at the point of
interruption by awarding the ball to Team B, the team not credited
with the score, at the end line with the privilege to run the end
line. When the try is not successful, play shall resume at the point
of interruption with the use of the alternating-possession arrow and
a reset of the shot clock.
(Rule 7-4.9)
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 03:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAAW:

A.R. 161. A1 drives to the basket and:
1. The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or
2. The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.
RULING 1 and 2: When the officials signal simultaneously, they shall
get together and agree to give the call to the official who had the play
originate in his/her primary.
When the officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which foul occurred first.
Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to the official scorer
and the appropriate penalty is assessed.
(Rule 4-5, 4-7, 4-15 and 4-17.1)

....
Hmmm, so in the ruleset that handles the situation the same way jar does, signaling is considered the deciding factor as to what the officials "ruled/called". So there is precedent for "officials' signals" to be the trigger of whether or not a blarge is in effect.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Mar 17, 2014 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Actually, no mention is made of signals at all. There is no way to tell by reading this whether any preliminary signal was made by anyone.
So then, how the heck do we know that one called/ruled at block and one called/ruled a charge?

Did they both go to the table at he same time and report different fouls simultaneously.

In talking to a couple of old timers over the weekend who spent time on the committee.....

The CB play was published because at our level the potential for this to occur is much higher than at the NCAA level. They have never seen anyone interpret this in any other way than being a double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 05:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
No, it says nothing about "reported" either (in the case play). The question is how is 'ruled' defined, and can you alter your ruling once you make it?
1. We know the fouls were reported or we wouldn't need to know how to proceed from there.

2. This is a legitimate question.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-mail BillyClyde 68 Basketball 1 Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:57pm
RE: Follow-up e-mail, huh? jdmara Basketball 8 Thu Jan 28, 2010 04:34pm
60 second officiating e-mail fullor30 Basketball 8 Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:18pm
The check is in the mail 26 Year Gap Basketball 2 Wed Apr 25, 2007 07:39pm
E-mail Cyber-Ref General / Off-Topic 5 Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1