The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 02:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Can someone post the language from the NCAA-Women's rule/case play? I know the gist of the rule, primary takes the call. But I'm wondering what the "trigger" for the rule/case play is in their rule books.

IOW, what determines that 2 officials "ruled" or "called" conflicting fouls in the NCAA-Women's play?
This reminds me: what's the wording in NCAAM?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 03:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
This reminds me: what's the wording in NCAAM?
I can't find any in the current rule or case book.

Edit: thanks Bob, I searched for "calls player control" instead of "calls a player-control".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Mar 17, 2014 at 03:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
NCAAW:

A.R. 161. A1 drives to the basket and:
1. The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or
2. The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.
RULING 1 and 2: When the officials signal simultaneously, they shall
get together and agree to give the call to the official who had the play
originate in his/her primary. When the officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which foul occurred first.
Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to the official scorer
and the appropriate penalty is assessed.
(Rule 4-5, 4-7, 4-15 and 4-17.1)

NCAAM:

A.R. 158. A1 drives to the basket and:
1. The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or
2. The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.
RULING: This is uncharacteristic of a double personal foul in which
two officials adjudicate the fouls differently against two opponents for
the same contact. In (1) and (2), the two officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously.
1: The ball shall be awarded to Team A, the team in control, at the
point of interruption with no reset of the shot clock.
(Rule 2-11.7.f, 7-3.1.d, 7-4.8 and 4-15.2.b)
2: The two officials disagree as to whether there was a charge or a
block, however, before contact occurred, the ball was released by
A1. Although there is no team control while a ball is in flight,
when the goal is successful, play shall resume at the point of
interruption by awarding the ball to Team B, the team not credited
with the score, at the end line with the privilege to run the end
line. When the try is not successful, play shall resume at the point
of interruption with the use of the alternating-possession arrow and
a reset of the shot clock.
(Rule 7-4.9)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 03:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAAW:

A.R. 161. A1 drives to the basket and:
1. The referee calls a player-control foul and an umpire calls a block; or
2. The referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block.
RULING 1 and 2: When the officials signal simultaneously, they shall
get together and agree to give the call to the official who had the play
originate in his/her primary.
When the officials disagree that the fouls
occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which foul occurred first.
Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to the official scorer
and the appropriate penalty is assessed.
(Rule 4-5, 4-7, 4-15 and 4-17.1)

....
Hmmm, so in the ruleset that handles the situation the same way jar does, signaling is considered the deciding factor as to what the officials "ruled/called". So there is precedent for "officials' signals" to be the trigger of whether or not a blarge is in effect.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Mar 17, 2014 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 05:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Hmmm, so in the ruleset that handles the situation the same way jar does, signaling is considered the deciding factor as to what the officials "ruled/called". So there is precedent for "officials' signals" to be the trigger of whether or not a blarge is in effect.
True, good point. But this case says "simultaneous signals", rather than "conflicting signals" or "opposite signals." A fist in the air is also a signal. According to this wording, even if both officials have just a fist they should still get together.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 07:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
True, good point. But this case says "simultaneous signals", rather than "conflicting signals" or "opposite signals." A fist in the air is also a signal. According to this wording, even if both officials have just a fist they should still get together.
So you take the case ruling to mean that every time 2 officials have a fist in the air they are to get together and determine the call?

In the case ruling bob cited, you're saying the officials telepathically knew they that one was calling a PC and the other a Block?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 08:56pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
So you take the case ruling to mean that every time 2 officials have a fist in the air they are to get together and determine the call?
If necessary, they can. Usually, when two experienced officials have a fist in the air the communication consists of one walking away, thus yielding to the other.

Quote:
In the case ruling bob cited, you're saying the officials telepathically knew they that one was calling a PC and the other a Block?
No, I'm saying that no matter how they knew they have the right to confer. If you don't know, and the call is uncertain, ask:

"What have you got?"

Worst case scenario is this: I'm the L. I call/rule/signal a blocking foul near the corner. The call was obvious. The defender's own coach is screaming at him. I start toward the table to report. I see my rookie partner, who was the C, peering across the lane with one fist in the air and the other hand behind his head. But now we have no choice but to report his foul as well.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 09:15pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If necessary, they can. Usually, when two experienced officials have a fist in the air the communication consists of one walking away, thus yielding to the other.
...
So a fist up in the air doesn't indicate what each official ruled? I agree with that.

Based on the precedence in Bob's cite, I feel validated in my belief that preliminary signals are the indicator that the officials have "ruled/called" a block and PC/charge, and therefore both fouls need to be reported.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 09:16pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No, I'm saying that no matter how they knew they have the right to confer. If you don't know, and the call is uncertain, ask:

"What have you got?"
Huh?

You think that we do not know what to call and result in a double foul based on this example?

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Worst case scenario is this: I'm the L. I call/rule/signal a blocking foul near the corner. The call was obvious. The defender's own coach is screaming at him. I start toward the table to report. I see my rookie partner, who was the C, peering across the lane with one fist in the air and the other hand behind his head. But now we have no choice but to report his foul as well.
What? SMDH!!!

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-mail BillyClyde 68 Basketball 1 Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:57pm
RE: Follow-up e-mail, huh? jdmara Basketball 8 Thu Jan 28, 2010 04:34pm
60 second officiating e-mail fullor30 Basketball 8 Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:18pm
The check is in the mail 26 Year Gap Basketball 2 Wed Apr 25, 2007 07:39pm
E-mail Cyber-Ref General / Off-Topic 5 Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1