![]() |
|
|
|||
I seem to recall an NFHS ruling from the past stating that the player didn't have any restrictions after the catch. I'll try to find it. My memory isn't what it used to be.
|
|
|||
I agree. Don't know where it is but a toss off their own backboard is, for the purposes of what the player can do next, is treated like a try. It is not a try, however.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
The Show Me State ...
Pretend that I'm from Missouri. As President Ronald Reagan was fond of saying, "Trust, but verify".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Don't have time to dig it up.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Lookng For Fossils ...
Nevadaref? You're the Forum expert at digging things up for the distant past. Give us a few minutes of your time. I need some closure here.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
2012-13 Case Book
4.15.4 SITUATION C (c) refers to a try, that hits the player's own backboard. 9.5 SITUATION (a) makes the reference to a team's own backboard being that team's "equipment", and thus it may be used. Much of the discussion in this thread relies on a combined inerpolation of those two situations.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
My once-a-year look at the "Basketball Rules Fundamental" page...
NFHS Basketball Rules Fundamental #19
"A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute part of a dribble." Does this provide some justification in the way of the written rules not contradicting the case play for anyone?
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backboard | PP | Basketball | 7 | Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:46am |
Backboard | ILMalti | Basketball | 1 | Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:50pm |
Over the backboard | yukonmiller | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 31, 2005 06:23pm |
over the backboard | rcwilco | Basketball | 13 | Mon Feb 09, 2004 04:08am |
top of backboard | gduck | Basketball | 8 | Mon Mar 04, 2002 07:47pm |