View Single Post
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 11:55am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
There's a lot of unneeded complexity here IMO.

The NFHS has given us a caseplay explaining that Team A can throw the ball off of their own backboard. They want this to be allowed even if the rules don't specifically allow for it.

It seems a lot simpler and within the spirit of the rules to rule any throw by Team A off of their own backboard a try, which I will continue to do.

Otherwise I guess you can ignore the casebook play and go on trying to figure out how to split the baby. It is almost Mardi Gras after all and that tends to happen with King Cake.
Seems more congruent (at least to me) with both rule and caseplay to rule a throw off the backboard in exactly the same way as you would rule a fumble at the end of a dribble. Even though these two things aren't the same, ruling in this way is in line with the rule, and is also in line with the case. If a player throws the ball against the backboard, he can retrieve it. Just like if a player fumbles at the end of a dribble. but he can't start dribbling again.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote