Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Without the Case Book ruling specifically stating that the action is legal, this would be a violation for an illegal dribble.
|
Are you talking about the dunk? I agree.
If you're talking about the OP, where a player instead catches the ball and lands (rather than dunking), I'm less convinced than when this thread started.
I've come to a philosophy that when a case play contradicts the rule, I'm only willing to apply it to the very specific situation for which it was written. I'm hesitant to apply it to a play that deviates even slightly.
The OP represents a deviation from the case play that seems to me to be significant enough to warrant considering calling the violation.