The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 01:51pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhc2010 View Post
During a foul shot, B1, in the bottom lane space, loses his balance and one of his hands touches inside of the key. He regains his balance and stands back up. The shooter does not notice the player and ends up missing the free throw. Any violation? B1's feet never crossed the foot plane.
9-1-3d stipulates that your example is a violation..."by contacting the court outside the 36-inch by 36-inch space".

This was added about five years ago to answer the very question you've asked, but it does not preclude the fact that the feet crossing the "foot plane", as you call it, is also a violation, as the rule plainly states.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
Inadvertent Whistle & Lane Violation Question South GA BBall Ref Basketball 2 Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:19pm
Free Throw Lane Violation Question 8220scr Basketball 4 Tue Jul 26, 2005 11:36am
Playoff Question - Calling a minor lane violation on the first free throw bradfordwilkins Basketball 3 Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:23pm
Question on lane violation Damian Basketball 10 Wed Feb 09, 2005 06:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1