The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Read number 5 again -- especially the last sentence:

The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt.

Situation 4 makes the same point.
Got it. Thanks.

Is this point only available through prior years interpretations?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
Got it. Thanks.

Is this point only available through prior years interpretations?
It's one of the complications with the way they added to the team control definition.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:29pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
Got it. Thanks.

Is this point only available through prior years interpretations?
My opinion is that it would be nice if a more clearly defined criteria for when a 10-second count starts was put in words in the rule book.

When the rule was written, there was no team control during a throw-in at the HS level, so the "continuously in team control" phrase made sense. Now it's convoluted with the addition of TC fouls on throw-ins.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
My opinion is that it would be nice if a more clearly defined criteria for when a 10-second count starts was put in words in the rule book.

When the rule was written, there was no team control during a throw-in at the HS level, so the "continuously in team control" phrase made sense. Now it's convoluted with the addition of TC fouls on throw-ins.
They've tried to do this by interpretation. The problem is, interps fade over time. I'm already talking to veteran officials, association leadership, who are insisting that, by rule, the throwin that is tipped by A in the FC and recovered by A in the BC is a violation.

westneat is correct in that the rule itself has this as a violation: but the NFHS was clear when they added TC to the throw in that they did not want it to apply to anything except whether you shoot FTs on a given foul.

The need to change the TC rule back, and then simply change the penalties to state that a foul committed by the throw in team does not result in FTs. Maybe include that in the definition of a TC foul, even though there's no TC. This wouldn't be any different than a PC foul that can be charged even when there's no PC. I believe this was Bob's suggestion.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:55pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
The need to change the TC rule back, and then simply change the penalties to state that a foul committed by the throw in team does not result in FTs.
Agree 100%. In fact, I've lobbied the current and previous Rules Committee members from my region to do exactly that. It's gotten nowhere. (What makes it worse is that the current committee member is an official.)

Quote:
Maybe include that in the definition of a TC foul, even though there's no TC.
They've already (kind of, almost) done this. They included the inbounder in the definition of team control foul (4-19-7). The rule could be made a little clearer, and then just eliminate team control during the throw-in. I wish they would do this and eliminate all this confusion and contradiction.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
They've tried to do this by interpretation. The problem is, interps fade over time. I'm already talking to veteran officials, association leadership, who are insisting that, by rule, the throwin that is tipped by A in the FC and recovered by A in the BC is a violation.

westneat is correct in that the rule itself has this as a violation: but the NFHS was clear when they added TC to the throw in that they did not want it to apply to anything except whether you shoot FTs on a given foul.

The need to change the TC rule back, and then simply change the penalties to state that a foul committed by the throw in team does not result in FTs. Maybe include that in the definition of a TC foul, even though there's no TC. This wouldn't be any different than a PC foul that can be charged even when there's no PC. I believe this was Bob's suggestion.
Worse, unless it's in the book, how can I justify a call that looks like it directly contradicts the rulebook?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
Worse, unless it's in the book, how can I justify a call that looks like it directly contradicts the rulebook?
You won't have to -- at least for a while.

This is one of the (rare) times when "what everyone knows" is correct.

Note that the NCAA rule is a little different -- the shot-clock starts when the ball is touched and when it gets to 20/25, it's a violation -- even if there was never PC in the BC. (generic statement only, for the usual situation; I recognize there are exceptions.) So, once people get used to that, then you might have some explaining to do, if FED doesn't clarify.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Unfortunately, the great majority of HS officials that I see, start the 10 second count upon the first touching of the ball, rather than control.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 30, 2014, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 102
Who would've thought I'd see it so soon...

Did some men's "wreck" last night to try and make up a few dollars since my last FIVE HS games were cancelled. Had a play where white got a rebound and then lost the ball in transition still in the backcourt. A player from Red dove on the ground and had one hand firmly pinning the the ball to the ground near the mid-court line, but clearly in Red's frontcourt. He then put his other hand on the ground to push himself up, but put it down in the backcourt. I blew for a backcourt violation and then thought about this thread instantly and wondered if maybe I jumped the gun because it seemed to me the consensus here was that one hand pinning the ball to the ground is not control.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
No violation? red Basketball 4 Tue Feb 17, 2009 01:01am
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1