![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
NFHS case play 10-1-8
Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put "consumed" time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 7-6-6; 10-1-5d)
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That seems to be why there is confusion about giving Team A a technical foul. My question is this... Since this is not a correctable error, as only free throws attempted at the wrong basket are correctable, should all points be counted and go from the POI? 1. Team V gets the point for the free throw. 2. Team V is awarded points for Team H making a field goal in the wrong basket (it is not awarded to any player, but a note is made in the scorebook to explain the points scored). 3. Team V is awarded points for their made field goal, even though it should have been Team H's ball. 4. Play is stopped, and both teams are reminded which basket they're are shooting at, to make sure there is no more confusion. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe we can take away any points scored unless a correctable error is made and caught within the right time frame to make it right. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Maybe I'm not understanding the OP scenario, because it sounds like Team B was really screwed up. The way I read it Team V makes a free throw in Basket V, then Team H in bounds ball under Basket V and makes a field goal in Basket V. So they really shot and made a basket in the goal they just took the ball out underneath? The same basket Team V shot their free throw at?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
A couple possessions before when V was shooting free throws, the point guard got into the lower block and was talking to his teammate across the lane like they were planning on shooting on the wrong basket. Nothing happen that time, but the free throw in the OP, they were talking like let's really do it. I was not closely listening to them, but I feel that they planned this. That is why I am asking about the T.
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury |
|
|||
|
Fixing it like that makes sense, as it's fair. However, it doesn't seem to jive with the rule regarding correctable errors.
This is an official's mistake, for allowing it to happen, and therefore should fall under the correctable rules. The one case book situation cited here doesn't fit this situation, as that refers to Team A shooting the free throw AND inbounding the ball. So where is the rule or case to make it clear that this is right? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
It actually does apply. The screw-up was that after Team A scored on itself, Team B inbounded the ball which isn't correct. Team A should've inbounded the ball again...after being reminded to go shoot at the hoop on the other end of the court.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interfering with the Punt Returner | Spence | Football | 4 | Sat Sep 25, 2010 08:21am |
| interfering? | mwb | Softball | 1 | Sat Apr 24, 2010 09:55am |
| Batter Interfering with Play at Plate | bwbuddy | Softball | 6 | Wed Jun 14, 2006 03:22pm |
| Interfering With The Umpire | nickrego | Baseball | 11 | Mon Sep 20, 2004 01:57pm |
| Runner interfering with a foul ball | akalsey | Baseball | 8 | Mon Aug 16, 2004 01:04pm |