The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Jan 20, 2014, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member

Old NOOB looking for advice

I've been reffing for some 20+ years, but since I've been connected to a private middle school system, I've been doing almost exclusively 5th-8th grade games, to the tune of 60 games a year. I've attended one reffing clinic, maintained state licensure, and reffed probably a half dozen high-school games in that time. I now have a regular partner who is young and gung-ho to start doing more high school games. We've been working together for about two years now, and have pretty good chemistry. So starting tomorrow we're picking up some JV and Frosh games. I was hoping some of you vets would share some good advice for someone like myself who's going to have to adjust his game from grade school to high school.

Thanks!
Old Tue Jan 21, 2014, 08:26am
I miss being on the floor

First and foremost, and most obviously, the game will be faster.

Also, I would think the coaches would be more "involved" at the high school level. Be prepared to talk with coaches more and have a game plan for dealing with confrontation.

Your mechanics need to be sharp. Not that they're not already, I'm sure they are.

Also, I see you're in Wisconsin, so make sure you know when the captain's meeting happens, when you intro yourself to the coaches, etc.
Old Tue Jan 21, 2014, 09:41am
Lighten up, Francis.

My guess is that Freshman basketball is not much different from 8th grade basketball. Make sure you hustle and work hard. Officiate your area of responsibility. Call the POEs. Protect your ball-handlers. Protect your shooters. Communicate with your partner(s). Don't let the table screw up your game (this is a much bigger concern at the Freshman level than at the varsity level).

Good luck!
Old Tue Jan 21, 2014, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member

Quote: