The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 10:31am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
I would definitely blow this violation if I were the L or C, even in high school game. Of course, here in MA, it's a little easier to justify making that call, because we use a shot clock. So everybody knows exactly when 10 seconds has expired in the possession.

I agree with the people who say you can't call the violation once the TO is granted.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I would definitely blow this violation if I were the L or C, even in high school game. Of course, here in MA, it's a little easier to justify making that call, because we use a shot clock. So everybody knows exactly when 10 seconds has expired in the possession.

I agree with the people who say you can't call the violation once the TO is granted.
================================================== =======

Scrapper,

Wow! Are there other timing violations that you would step in and handle for your partner? For example, would you blow a closely guarded count out from under your partner if the shot clock indicated that the player had been closely guarded for 6 seconds? Throw in at 6 seconds?

I don't mean to ask these questions in an argumentative manner. I guess I'm just trying to understand how important this particular call is to you verses other violations?????
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 11:34am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
================================================== =======

Scrapper,

Wow! Are there other timing violations that you would step in and handle for your partner? For example, would you blow a closely guarded count out from under your partner if the shot clock indicated that the player had been closely guarded for 6 seconds? Throw in at 6 seconds?

I don't mean to ask these questions in an argumentative manner. I guess I'm just trying to understand how important this particular call is to you verses other violations?????
It's not the importance of the call -- it's an obvious, visible error.

I just don't understand why it took so long to use the shot clock instead of a visible count in order to get these violations.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 12:37pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It's not the importance of the call -- it's an obvious, visible error.

I just don't understand why it took so long to use the shot clock instead of a visible count in order to get these violations.
Table competency.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 07:51pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I just don't understand why it took so long to use the shot clock instead of a visible count in order to get these violations.
As a practical matter, officials have been using the shot clock instead of their visible count for years. It's just in the rulebook now.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2014, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
As a practical matter, officials have been using the shot clock instead of their visible count for years. It's just in the rulebook now.
================================================== =======

Scrapper,

I see your and Rich's point about the shot clock. We don't use shot clock here but it was clear that the game clock was at 1:00 for resumption of play and was at 48.7 when it stopped for a granted T.O.

If no shot clock, but game clock did start properly - at what point, would you have blown this violation for your partner? 49.9? 49.0? Would you treat this situation the same as if you had had a shot clock?
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2014, 05:05pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
If no shot clock, but game clock did start properly - at what point, would you have blown this violation for your partner? 49.9? 49.0? Would you treat this situation the same as if you had had a shot clock?
Without a shot clock, I likely would not come in to call the violation at all, because it's unlikely that I checked the game clock when the ball was first possessed inbounds.

However, if the clock was stopped for time-out with 1:00 remaining, I suppose it's possible that I would notice this and have some definite knowledge about when the violation should occur. In that rare case, I would come get it at 0:49. But I think that's extremely unlikely.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2014, 05:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Without a shot clock, I likely would not come in to call the violation at all, because it's unlikely that I checked the game clock when the ball was first possessed inbounds.

However, if the clock was stopped for time-out with 1:00 remaining, I suppose it's possible that I would notice this and have some definite knowledge about when the violation should occur. In that rare case, I would come get it at 0:49. But I think that's extremely unlikely.
I could see doing this with a shot clock, depending on who my partner was. No way I'm doing it without one, though, with only a 1 second lag. Until the Fed specifically allows us to use the clock for violations (probably about the time they add the shot clock in CO), I'm not going to step in on this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 11:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
================================================== =======

Scrapper,

Wow! Are there other timing violations that you would step in and handle for your partner? For example, would you blow a closely guarded count out from under your partner if the shot clock indicated that the player had been closely guarded for 6 seconds? Throw in at 6 seconds?

I don't mean to ask these questions in an argumentative manner. I guess I'm just trying to understand how important this particular call is to you verses other violations?????
CG count: i'm guessing, no, because whether a player is being closely guarded is part of the judgment here.
Throw in: No, because there is no situation where the shot clock is running during a throw in. Also, you've either got a situation where the clock hasn't started, or there is judgment involved in when the throw in started.

By Fed rule, I'm not getting this until it gets ridiculous (as bob indicates above). Even then, I'm more likely to blow it dead and have a quick chat with my partner, quietly, to make sure he's paying attention.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 07:48pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
Are there other timing violations that you would step in and handle for your partner? For example, would you blow a closely guarded count out from under your partner if the shot clock indicated that the player had been closely guarded for 6 seconds? Throw in at 6 seconds?
How would I know when the player first was closely guarded? I'm not officiating my partner's match-ups.

How would I know what the throw-in count is? I guess it would be possible to check the game clock at the start of the throw-in after a made basket, but really, how practical is it for me as the off-official to check the game clock at the start of every throw-in after a basket?

However, when everyone in the gym can see the shot clock at 20 seconds, it's obvious that the violation has occurred, even if my partner's count is a little slow. So -- especially if there is backcourt pressure -- I will get the violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back court violation? Hardwood Basketball 13 Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:12pm
Back Court Violation Ricejock Basketball 16 Sun Jan 30, 2005 06:12am
back court violation or not????? jritchie Basketball 11 Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:22pm
back court violation? smoref Basketball 32 Fri Nov 21, 2003 09:36am
Back court Violation? jerrydon Basketball 5 Tue May 01, 2001 05:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1