The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 745
Long Switch

1) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. Before the ball is controlled, Both A-2 and B-2 are still in the air and A-2 fouls B-2.
2) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. The ball is controlled by B-2. Both A-2 and B-2 are still in the air and A-2 fouls B-2.
3) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. The ball is controlled by B-2. A-2 is on the court and fouls B-2 before he returns to the court.
4) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. The ball is controlled by B-2. Both A-2 and B-2 have returned to the court and A-2 fouls B-2.

If Team B is in the bonus, does B-2 shoot Free-Throws?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:11pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
If Team B is in the bonus, does B-2 shoot Free-Throws?
Why would he not?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
1,2,3 If lead calls foul table side long switch with trail because it was on the rebound, if lead calls foul opposite table switch with C and stay table side C. Because these were all on rebounds.

#4 since the ball was controlled and wasn't on the rebound, it was after, then if called by lead on either side, report and come back to throw ball in.

Team B will Shoot Bonus in all of the above.
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
1,2,3 If lead calls foul table side long switch with trail because it was on the rebound.
Can anyone else confirm this part?! I agree this is how I understood it as well to begin the season, but since then I have had multiple R's in pregame tell me there is only a long switch on an offensive foul, not on the rebounding foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:22pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Around here if you call a foul from the L you switch. After you become the new T you step out report and step back and administer.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Here is the text of an email sent to all officials in our state recently:

Quote:
The final note is on the 3 man mechanic change that involve the lead official calling a foul in the backcourt with no free throws.
The explanation from the NFHS regarding when this issue is below:
NFHS this season made a three-person mechanics change that involves the lead official calling a foul with the ball going from the backcourt to frontcourt with no free throws. With the change, the lead reports the foul and then stays tableside as the new lead or center.
However, there has been some uncertainty by some officials whether or not the new trail should switch when a foul is called in the backcourt going to the frontcourt in a three-person crew. NFHS recently confirmed that mechanic remains the same as in the past and there is no switch. The trail reports the foul and then returns to administer the throw-in. That means, that once team B has secured the ball and a count has started (meaning the former lead is the new trail), you will not switch but simply report the foul and move back to the trail as in previous seasons.

For example, if A4 rebounds B2’s field-goal attempt, A4 starts to dribble the ball and the new trail calls a foul on B3 near the basket, the new trail will report the foul and administer the throw-in nearest the spot of the foul. If A2 makes a basket and the new trail calls a foul on A1 after B3 catches the throw-in pass near the endline, the new trail will report the foul and administer the throw-in at the spot nearest the foul.
To me, this means that on any foul that happens before Team B secures the steal/rebound, etc, you switch and the Lead stays table side. So if the Lead has an illegal screen, rebounding foul, or charge, he will go to the table and stay there.

If I got to make the mechanics, I would have the calling official go opposite table like NCAAM mechanics. Just seems a lot easier that way.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:36pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountTheBasket View Post
Can anyone else confirm this part?!
It's all about what position you are at the moment of the foul. If the offense has the ball (TC or PC foul) or there foul with no team control, Lead switches. If the defense secures control Lead is now the new Trail. Thus, if a foul happens he would report and go back.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountTheBasket View Post
Can anyone else confirm this part?! I agree this is how I understood it as well to begin the season, but since then I have had multiple R's in pregame tell me there is only a long switch on an offensive foul, not on the rebounding foul.
Based on past discussions here (and elsewhere), different organizations handle it differently.

I also don't understand the OP where the thread /post title seem to discuss long switch, but the questions all deal with whether FTs are shot. They are, so of course the "long switch" question doesn't come into play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
1) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. Before the ball is controlled, Both A-2 and B-2 are still in the air and A-2 fouls B-2.
2) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. The ball is controlled by B-2. Both A-2 and B-2 are still in the air and A-2 fouls B-2.
3) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. The ball is controlled by B-2. A-2 is on the court and fouls B-2 before he returns to the court.
4) A-1's try rebounds off the back board. The ball is controlled by B-2. Both A-2 and B-2 have returned to the court and A-2 fouls B-2.

If Team B is in the bonus, does B-2 shoot Free-Throws?
Do we make long switches? Sorry for the confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 08:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,628
My understanding if the Lead calls the foul and you are going from the FC to the BC after the foul, then you long switch.

If you are the Trail, you go back theoretically.

I am not sure most people even care in the end other than officials or someone that has nothing else to really worry about. The point of the mechanic is to get you to the reporting area. But it is puzzling why that would be the goal and if I am the Trail, I can go back and do the very same thing I did in previous years?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 248
The Texas Exception

There's no confusion here. In Texas we made it easy by deciding NOT to do the long switch.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 12:11am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,571
Here is how you do it.

It all depends on who you are at the time of the foul.

As Lead, if you call a foul where the offensive team has possession (PC or TC foul), OR a foul where neither team has possession (i.e. rebounding foul), you switch with the tableside official.

However, if the defense secures possession then Lead is now new Trail. Any foul now requires the Trail to report and come back to administer.

Obviously, this covers all fouls going long with no FT's.

Easy peasy, japanesy.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Here is how you do it.

It all depends on who you are at the time of the foul.

As Lead, if you call a foul where the offensive team has possession (PC or TC foul), OR a foul where neither team has possession (i.e. rebounding foul), you switch with the tableside official.

However, if the defense secures possession then Lead is now new Trail. Any foul now requires the Trail to report and come back to administer.

Obviously, this covers all fouls going long with no FT's.

Easy peasy, japanesy.
This...in our area...

In the OP...only in the #1 scenario would we go table side.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 02:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 376
In Michigan we are no longer doing the long switch. Here is part of an email for one of my assignors:

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I contacted the MHSAA and spoke to Nate Hampton about the following:

1. The new officials mechanic concerning the "Long Switch" is no longer in effect. In other words, we are back to last year's mechanic.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Do we make long switches? Sorry for the confusion.
Some areas don't.

In those that do, some are "strict" that ONLY if the L calls the foul, will there be a long switch. So that's a switch in 1, and no switch in 2, 3, and 4 (because the L became the T as soon as B controlled the rebound).

IN other areas, you still switch until B starts (or attempts to start) up the court. So, if the foul was during the "rebounding action" (a somewhat undefined term), you switch -- that would be 1, 2, and 3. 4 is up in the air -- if you though A was still trying to get the rebound, switch, but if you thought that A was trying to steal the ball after B had the rebound, no switch.

And, as always -- just read your partner(s) and fill in -- no one else will notice. Discuss at a break, if needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long switch on rebounding foul? jritchie Basketball 16 Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:20pm
Long Switch Scratch85 Basketball 10 Mon Oct 14, 2013 01:04pm
Long Switch Definition rfp Basketball 6 Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:02pm
Two man - no long switch mick Basketball 5 Fri Sep 20, 2002 09:36pm
New NCAA mechanics - Long switch or no long switch? jimcrket Basketball 5 Mon Oct 15, 2001 01:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1