![]() |
|
|
|||
throw in violation?
College game. Team B scores. A2 steps out of bounds along endline followed by A1 stepping out of bounds with ball along endline, A1 passes ball to A2 while both remain out of bounds. Partner later comments that a throw-in violation had occurred since both players were out of bounds before the throw-in started and during the throw-in.
Both NCAA men (7-4-6b) and NFHS (7-5-7) rules allow the privilege of passing to a teammate out of bounds after a score. I can find no rule or case citation that indicates that the privilege is not granted if both players are out of bounds before the start of the throw in and during the throw-in. Any clarifications or citations?
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
|
|||
That is not a violation under NFHS, NCAA or NBA rule sets.
NFHS 9-2 ART. 11 No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins. PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot. NCAA 9-5 Art. 2. No player other than the thrower-in shall: a. Perform the throw-in or be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If A1 is able to throw the ball to A2 out of bounds it is not a spot throw in.
|
|
|||
A continuation of the 5-second count.
|
|
|||
Nothing.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Some college officials don't find the rule book of much use after they have "made it".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 47 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm |
Throw in violation | lucky1313 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 09:50am |
Throw in violation? | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 6 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:33pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |
Throw-in violation | Bruce Taylor | Basketball | 3 | Thu Feb 24, 2000 10:42pm |