The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Oftentimes people forget that those correctable errors refer to errors made by officials. Any error made by scorers/timers can be corrected.
My point was not that this isn't something that can't be corrected, but rather that this error shouldn't cost a team a time out. As officials we need to know the status of the clock and we need to be in the habit on making sure that the clock runs when it is supposed to and stops when it should.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_ref View Post
My point was not that this isn't something that can't be corrected, but rather that this error shouldn't cost a team a time out.
And you are incorrect about that. In post #13 of this thread I provided the rule for you and it clearly includes a timing mistake.

Thus if a coach wants to contend that a timing error occurred and no correction can be made, then BY RULE it will cost his team a time-out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 03:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
And you are incorrect about that. In post #13 of this thread I provided the rule for you and it clearly includes a timing mistake.

Thus if a coach wants to contend that a timing error occurred and no correction can be made, then BY RULE it will cost his team a time-out.
I would think that the spirit and intent of that rule would result in no timeout if the crew confirmed a mistake was made but didn't have any sort of definite count to make a correction. In this case, a correction can be made if an official has a count. Whether the team is charged a T or not shouldn't depend on whether an official had a count or not.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 08:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I would think that the spirit and intent of that rule would result in no timeout if the crew confirmed a mistake was made but didn't have any sort of definite count to make a correction. In this case, a correction can be made if an official has a count. Whether the team is charged a T or not shouldn't depend on whether an official had a count or not.
I agree, if it is acknowledged that a mistake occurred, but no definite knowledge of how much time should come off, then the team shouldn't be penalized. The coach met his burden of pointing a real timing mistake.

And I do have at least one supervisor who tells us we need to take off at least 0.4 if a player on the court catches ball, based on the rule regarding needing at least 0.4 on the clock to catch and shoot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post

And I do have at least one supervisor who tells us we need to take off at least 0.4 if a player on the court catches ball, based on the rule regarding needing at least 0.4 on the clock to catch and shoot.
That seems a bit unreasonable since catch and shoot is two actions with the "shoot" part of it probably taking longer than the "catch" part of it. Should something come off, yes, but I'd suggest that the minimum time to catch the ball is less than the minimum time to catch and shoot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I would think that the spirit and intent of that rule would result in no timeout if the crew confirmed a mistake was made but didn't have any sort of definite count to make a correction. In this case, a correction can be made if an official has a count. Whether the team is charged a T or not shouldn't depend on whether an official had a count or not.
+1. My sentiments exactly.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS web site question jcarter Basketball 7 Tue Dec 23, 2008 07:25pm
Web Site TexBlue Softball 6 Fri Mar 28, 2008 09:29pm
What state's do 3-person out there? Viking32 Basketball 39 Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:44am
qb question I found on another site HighSchoolWhiteHat Football 6 Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00pm
new web site tor Hockey 1 Fri Nov 12, 1999 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1