The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 131
IF THE QB LINES UP WITH HIS HANDS UNDERNEATH THE GUARD AND THE BALL IS THEN SNAPPED TO THE RUNNING BACK, DO WE HAVE A PENALTY?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by HighSchoolWhiteHat
IF THE QB LINES UP WITH HIS HANDS UNDERNEATH THE GUARD AND THE BALL IS THEN SNAPPED TO THE RUNNING BACK, DO WE HAVE A PENALTY?

Yes, I think this is an illegal procedure/illegal formation foul. The QB did not have his hands in position to receive the ball if it is snapped through the snappers legs.

What did the other board say?

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
It is illegal formation as the QB is exempt from the on the line/off the line stuff as long as he is positioned to receive the snap.

I had a few yute coaches tell me about that play when I asked them about any trick plays before the game. They weren't excited when I told them it was illegal - they thought they were being pretty clever.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 131
im pretty sure the key word here is hands were under the guard. i think if he goes up behind the guard and doesn't put his hands under to receive the ball its a legal play.

anyone can line up behind the gaurd as long as he doesn't put his hands under his backside to make it look like hes receiving the ball.

\answer to my question though was yes it is a penalty...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 131
Mike i got these questions from a site called Athelic rules Study

they have rule cd's for every NFHS sport, that you can purchase. its a really good cd.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
He can line up behind the guard but may not penetrate the vertical plane through the waistline of the guard. So he can't exactly "simulate the look" of being "under center" no matter where his hands are.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 12:00pm
JMN JMN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 296
That's that key for me too. He can't claim the exemption to break the plane unless he's in a position to take the snap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1