The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 02:37pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,406
Saved By The Bell ...

Last night was the first time in thirty-three years that I’ve seen this (below, in red) play, and I got it wrong. Hopefully it will be another thirty-three years until I see the same play again.

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control.
A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without
violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once
A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her
back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling
unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises
and is first to touch the ball.
(4-44-5b)

I should have known better. At least two, or three, times a year, someone on the Forum points out that this is that only time that a player can travel without holding the ball. Luckily, the horn to end the period sounded one second after I passed on the call.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 29, 2013 at 03:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 03:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I should have known better. At least two, or three, times a year, someone on the Forum points out that this is that only time that a player can travel without moving a pivot foot. Luckily, the horn to end the period sounded one second after I passed on the call.
No, it's not the only time one can travel without moving a pivot foot.

It's pointed out as the exception to the rule that says a player must be holding the ball in order to travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2013, 03:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,406
Correction ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
No, it's not the only time one can travel without moving a pivot foot. It's pointed out as the exception to the rule that says a player must be holding the ball in order to travel.
I knew that it was something like that. Bottom line, I should have known that it was a violation. Thanks. Are you the Forum member that reminds of of that fact a few times each year?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RIP Wally Bell SethPDX Baseball 0 Mon Oct 14, 2013 08:13pm
You Can Ring My Bell ... BillyMac Basketball 42 Thu Oct 28, 2010 05:41pm
For whom the bell tolls.... UmpJM Baseball 15 Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:57am
Ref saved by CPR grantsrc Football 0 Tue Dec 18, 2007 07:37am
Rung Bell - Can't UnRing whiskers_ump Softball 5 Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1